Brake Pad DIY? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Does anyone know where to find a good brake pad DIY guide for a 95 80? I'm a little of a rookie when it comes to brakes. Thanks!

This is one place the Hayne's cheapo manual is actually helpful. Pictures and step by step instructions on DIY pad replacement.

Easier still, dig in and go for it. 2 caliper bolts, compress the cylinder back in with the old pads still in place using a c-clamp, and then pluck the pads and replace with new ones... it's pretty simple. I would give it a 1 banana....

Good luck

Haha. I appreciate the confidence. I'll be repeating the one banana to myself as I sit in my driveway watching people walk by on their way to the beach. I'm determined to be done in an hour!

Are you turning the rotors? I wonder how much more trouble it is to take off the rotors and have them turned.

bit more, since the rotors are bolted to the hubs. you have to pull the hub dial, c clip, hub body, spindle nuts/washers, then main hubs, unbolt the rotors and possible press out lug studs (never done an 80 so not sure how snug they are).

Does anyone know where to find a good brake pad DIY guide for a 95 80? I'm a little of a rookie when it comes to brakes. Thanks!

I'm thinking you may not be aware of the 80 Series FAQs? Sticky thread at the top of the 80-Series Tech section:

https://forum.ih8mud.com/80-series-tech/84888-faq-80-lx450-aug-2010-added-hood-vents-louvers.html

LOTS of valuable and helpful information in there including links to the thread arndog linked to and this one:

https://forum.ih8mud.com/80-series-tech/81098-brake-flush.html#post962781

Personally, I'd get at the very least the Haynes manual but preferably the Toyota FSM.