98 4 Runner engine light

Discussion in '05+ Tacoma, T100, Highlander' started by tahoe40/45, Feb 15, 2009.

  1. tahoe40/45

    tahoe40/45 SILVER Star

    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    416
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    N. California
    I have a 1998 4 Runner with 105,000 miles.My check engine light goes on and off randomly. It runs fine, no change in temp gage. Any one have this happen to them?
     
  2. d0ubledown

    d0ubledown

    Messages:
    1,932
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Location:
    vansterdam, BC
    get the code read. vatozone should be able to read it for free...then report back
     
  3. SHERMAN FJ62

    SHERMAN FJ62 Charlestons' King of Cruisers

    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    charleston
    It could be many things. Need more info. Any recent repairs?/
     
  4. hoch

    hoch

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Utah
    Or Checkers also does it for free. Could be anything from O2 sensors to a gas cap.
     
  5. tahoe40/45

    tahoe40/45 SILVER Star

    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    416
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    N. California
    I finally had the code read. it said, Throttle/pedal, position sensor/switch, A circuit malfunction.Should I replace that sensor,or is it a big deal? thanks
     
  6. SHERMAN FJ62

    SHERMAN FJ62 Charlestons' King of Cruisers

    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    charleston
    I dont think it is a big deal. I would get the part and fix it myself.

    If you worry about it call your local dealer and ask what will happend if you dont fix it.
     
  7. tahoe40/45

    tahoe40/45 SILVER Star

    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    416
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    N. California
  8. Acadia

    Acadia

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    easy to replace only 2 screws to remove and will run you about $65 for the part at the dealership
     
  9. KliersLC

    KliersLC

    Messages:
    3,540
    Likes Received:
    325
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    The TPS is easy to replace, but if it is out of adjustment when you get it, you will need to fix it before installing. Either make sure you can adjust it, or have a shop do it.
     
  10. Acadia

    Acadia

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    what are you adjusting on the throttle position sensor (TPS)?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.