93 security system failing (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I’m no expert here but a few months ago I’ve been experiencing the famous “click” of the starter when turning on my truck. After maybe 7-8 “clicks” she’ll turn over. After rebuilding my starter and getting the same results and finally buying a new starter and experiencing the same “click” I’m not sure what else it could be. I bought a new battery today and no luck.

I’m regards to the security system I think it has something to do with it. When I pull the chip a little up I seem to get a better response from the truck. If I’m not touching the chip I get no “click”

Can I turn this chip into a switch with minimal effort?

Is the security system have anything to do with my “click” that I’m getting?

What else should I look to do before spending big bucks

(The chip thing has been failing. Burnt my spare chip and every so often I’ll get smoke. Scary s***)

I don’t have a picture of the security box but it says toyota on it. Dealership said 530 to remove it. Told them to kick rocks.

1C9BE0FA-ABBB-463B-BD88-7337388810F1.jpeg

8E50A599-63AF-4FDD-8E09-A9F1B9881C57.jpeg

847AC0A3-F554-4301-9B90-CA76834168F7.jpeg

FBE93032-FBC5-4D59-8A17-6D9A73F0C49E.jpeg

Tear it out and install a Viper or Similar. It's 1980s tech!
If it's dealer installed it's about 30 mins to rip it out.

I just did the alarm removal on my 95, was causing a parasitic draw which killed the battery in a few days. There are a few good threads on here with pictures. In basic terms, just start with the brain box and work backwards until all the wires are removed. In the drivers side kick panel there are a couple of connectors that the alarm ties into, take those apart and put the truck side connectors back together. Same thing under the steering column. If I can find the threads I used I'll post them.

Last edited: