93 HDJ81 no headlights, no internal lights, weird electrical issues (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Good afternoon,

Recieved delivery of my 93 HDJ81 a week ago, had a new radio and front speakers installed by a local company. The internal lights are not working but turning them off and on turns the clock off and on and resets it. Yesterday both headlights went out but the fog lights still work. I am hoping it is a relay or something easy and I would love to spend hours pouring through already posted answers but I need this car to drive back to Fort Gordon from DFW (where I am now) in a week, so I need my headlights. I am a certified basic electrician through the army, so I have a decent comprehension on wiring diagrams and using a multimeter.

Thank you very much for your time and assistance.

I will begin trying to find the problem tomorrow. I am thinking it's one of four things.... a short, a broken wire, a fuse, or a relay. If anyone knows a good wiring diagram or something that helps, that would be amazing. I also plan on installing my PDI intercooler, GTurbo, and gauges. It's going to be a busy week....

I don’t have any good ideas for troubleshooting this issue, sorry to say. But I’ll share some of the docs I’ve been using to look at my HDJ81 wiring.

For more manuals, see the Resources part of the forum or Land Cruiser Factory Service Manuals (FSMs) - https://www.cruisercult.com/factory-service-manuals.

Good luck, please report back with how it goes!

I will begin trying to find the problem tomorrow. I am thinking it's one of four things.... a short, a broken wire, a fuse, or a relay. If anyone knows a good wiring diagram or something that helps, that would be amazing. I also plan on installing my PDI intercooler, GTurbo, and gauges. It's going to be a busy week....