2H Flat Spot (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi, the 60 Series crew told me to repost in here, so here goes. I just bought an HJ60. Loving it, it's getting me where I want to go, and back again. But I have noticed there is a flat spot in acceleration, just around 2000rpm. It's more noticeable in 4th gear, where the car almost sort of 'hops' and I have to back off the throttle and apply power again slowly. Sometimes it makes it better, sometimes the hopping is quite bad untill she gets over 2000rpm. The engine is (from what I can tell) a standard 2H but with the addition of extractors (headers). I noticed the last oil change (and I presume filters) was 5000km ago. Could this flat spot be a result of blocked/dirty filters (air or fuel) or is it a injection timing thing. I'm a bit new to the world of diesels.
BTW it's a 12 volt model, as were all the australian assembled HJ60s.
Cheers!

Ahh just found this, it might be the problem. Sure sounds similar! Sorry, should have searched first!
I've only had it two weeks, so I can't be sure if I remember it happening before the last fill up. Possible though, it was a dodgy service station. Will get new filters and give her a service this week

Hi Troppo. Does it have any fuel leaks or seepage around the hand primer or anywhere else.
It sounds like it might be getting air to me

Broome as you have probably realised sells mainly diesel and the most common vehicle in town is a diesel landcruiser so if they were selling bad fuel everyone would be having problems and dodgy service station owners would be getting a good old lynching:D.

I was up that way myself a few months ago and hoped to go there next month.
I saw your pics on the 60 forum ,looks like you were up at Willy Creek;)

my 88 4runner had that same problem a while ago found out that i had it clan out the throtle body out after i didi that the flat stop went away