1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2F Engine Head Bolts - HELP

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by 75PIG, Mar 4, 2007.

  1. 75PIG

    75PIG

    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Trying to install an Air Cleaner Bracket onto a 2F Engine (for a 75 PIG). Need to take out 2 front Driver's side head bolts. Got out one, but getting "leary," make that paranoid, because can't seem to get the 2nd one out. Took the torque wrench up to about 100 ft/lbs --- has not "broken" yet --- don't want it to shear --- then I will really have a BIG mess :eek: .

    Here are a couple of pictures of the one I got out. Looks a little off-spec. Thinking the "other" may be that way also. Any Ideas? Thought about just installing the bracket with just one bolt and drilling the bracket hole a bit bigger to slide over the head bolt I'm having trouble with.

    Why am I putting an older air cleaner onto a 2F? Because my carburetor (Non-USA) works with this air cleaner. I do have the stock cleaner but do not have a carb air horn to fit it -- so making do with this.

    Any Help appreciated!

    75PIG
    2F Engine Head Bolt Threads.jpg 2FEngine Head Bolt.jpg
     
  2. Trevor

    Trevor

    Messages:
    883
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    My head bolts looked like that when I removed them. Isn't the torque spec around 90 lb-ft? If so, then it's probably gonna take a lot more than 100 lb-ft to break them loose. Use a breaker bar with some 2" sch 40 pipe on the end.

    Also, don't use your torque wrench to loosen those bolts. It can booger the accuracy of the wrench.
     
  3. 75PIG

    75PIG

    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Thanks Trevor -- Good to hear --- did you replace the bolts or use new ones when you put it back together?

    Torque is supposed to by from 83-98 lbs/ft or so. Used a breaker bar but did not slip a cheater onto it due to being chicken --- was using the torque wrench to get a "feel" of how tight it was. First one Popped when it broke with the breaker bar -- thanks for the tip on not using the torque wrench to "break" the bolts free.

    I am using a 1/2 inch breaker but only have a 3/8 19mm socket. So, use a 1/2 to 3/8 converter. Am I losing anything by doing this? Also, space in a PIG is tight so may have to use a "longer" extension (height) to slip a cheater onto it w/o hitting the fender.

    Has anybody broken a HEAD BOLT?
     
  4. cruiser88

    cruiser88

    Messages:
    11,874
    Media:
    3
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Location:
    Medford Oregon
    ive never broken a yota headbolt,sometimes as you are trying to loosen,reverse your ratchet and try tighten just a little bit,then loosen again
     
  5. crawford67

    crawford67

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    Milford, Kansas
    I just did the head on my 76 FJ40, I think I used about a 3 in extention on a 1/2 in drive Breaker Bar. The extention justed cleared the rocker assy studs and still was managable. I would be careful using a 3/8 to a 1/2 adapter, one of those is gonna give if somebody has put some Gorrilla Torque on those bolts. I had a friend get on one side of the truck and I got on the other he pushed and I pulled. Some of the bolts took a little work but I was able to get them all out. Good luck
     
  6. 75PIG

    75PIG

    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Cruiser88 and Crawford67,

    Thanks, think I will invest in the 19mm 1/2 socket and extension. Will let you know what happens after I get them.

    Thanks for the help ---
     
  7. Fast Eddy

    Fast Eddy

    Messages:
    14,294
    Likes Received:
    1,942
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Location:
    Morgan Hill, CA
    x3

    I just pulled the head on a 2f that has been sitting for 15-odd years. We used a 24" 1/2" breaker bar and some of the bolts took two of us, pushing, and pulling with one foot braced on the motor mount; easily 200 ft-lbs or maybe more. We tried a longer cheater pipe, but we couldn't get any traction with the engine on a stand.

    I got lots of bolts even a bit worse than your picture, but none broke off.
     
  8. IDave

    IDave

    Messages:
    7,167
    Media:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    McCall, ID
    (You do know that 19mm and 3/4in are the same, si?)
     
  9. Mark W

    Mark W

    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    84
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Location:
    The Greatland
    Head bolts always take more than 100 lbs to get loose.

    Mark...
     
  10. Cruiserdrew

    Cruiserdrew SILVER Star

    Messages:
    14,652
    Likes Received:
    3,124
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
  11. grant5127

    grant5127

    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Location:
    Meridian,TEXAS
    In this scenario bringing the engine up to operating temp. eases the removal those stubborn corroded bolts... but, be sure to depressurize or drain down the cooling system before bolt removal......
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2007
  12. Pinion

    Pinion

    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Location:
    Milford, Mass
    I like to loosen a 1/2 turn and spray in some PB. Wait a few seconds and tighten the bolt. Wait a few seconds and loosen some more. If needed, spray in some more PB and repeat. It'll come out. Some times people will use loctite on the bolts, and sometimes they will just use some assembly lube or oil on the threads.
     
  13. Fuzzy Logic

    Fuzzy Logic

    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    In the Rat Hole
    When I disturbed those head bolts for a air cleaner removal head gasket failure soon followed.:mad: Whats up with that:confused: I torqued them back down to spec.
     
  14. Mark W

    Mark W

    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    84
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Location:
    The Greatland
    Unless you ran the engine with them loose, then it is almost certainly coincidence.


    Mark...
     
  15. 75PIG

    75PIG

    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    The 3/4" does fit the same as the 19mm --- I tried it earlier but thought it was a loose fit. Thanks for all the input, will probably use them all, impact wrench too; probably not running it since I have one of the head bolts out already and don't want to blow the gasket. Sounds like the bolts are pretty durable with all that muscle going into it to get them out.

    Did NOT want to hear about the head gasket failure --- going to have to make sure I really torque those two head bolts back down --- probably should have invested in the carb with the correct year air horn to except the stock air cleaner -- gues they improved the design not attaching it to the head with head bolts.

    Let you know how it turns out.
     
  16. Poser

    Poser Oh...Durka Durka Durka. s-Moderator Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    20,224
    Media:
    17
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    494
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    Remember to lightly oil the threads when you install and torque those bolts back up.
     
  17. CUMAPART

    CUMAPART

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Location:
    NEPA
    A little bit of oil under the head of the bolt helps before you torque to specs.
     
  18. 75PIG

    75PIG

    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Well, used the impact wrench --- started out on setting #1 and went all the way to #4 (wrench says not to exceed 90psi).

    #1 --- 123-140 ft lbs
    #2 --- 155-170 ft lbs
    #3 --- 175-190 ft lbs
    #4 --- 195-230 ft lbs

    Guess What ---- a BIG NOTHING happened

    Tried the breaker with a cheater --- a BIG NOTHING happened. This is in there tight! Can't get PB down the hole.

    See engine picture... notice only one bolt out -- the 2nd one back is still in. Really thinking about just overdrilling the air cleaner bracket to fit over the 2nd bolt...

    OR --- Anybody got a Junked 75 carb air horn that will mate with my non-USA carb -- see engine pic and stock air cleaner -- see pic. If I do that then I blow all the work of sandblasting and painting the air cleaner --- see pic. Worse yet, I wouldn't be using something that PIGHEAD went so far out of his way to get me!
    FJ55 Air Cleaners.jpg FJ55 Engine.jpg
     
  19. ranger

    ranger

    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    Mountain Hole, Idaho
    I've had a couple that were really stubborn to break loose. A 3/4 inch breaker and a 4 foot pipe with me rocking on it finally got the job done.
     
  20. 75PIG

    75PIG

    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Now we're getting serious, got to go to the big guns (3/4 " and 4 ft cheater). I'll see if any of my friends have the equipment.

    Thanks