2002 Sequoia alarm

Discussion in 'Tundra / Sequoia' started by Foreigner, Oct 25, 2018.

  1. Foreigner

    Foreigner

    Messages:
    570
    Media:
    9
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3,999
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Santa Cruz de la Sierra // Bozeman
    I've got a 2002 Sequoia that a buddy found for me to use while I'm in the States for a few months. Just drove it today for the first time and keep running into problems with the alarm/theft-prevention system.

    Apparently, I can only lock the vehicle with the remote fob or it will go nuts. If I move the wrong way while sitting in the house and the panic button gets squashed in my pocket (I assume), it goes nuts.

    Is there any way to just shut it off?
     
  2. Bryanseye

    Bryanseye Inaffective Grammer Nazi SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,115
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,955
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Location:
    Between pit of man's fears and summit of knowledge
    Factory alarm?
     
  3. Foreigner

    Foreigner

    Messages:
    570
    Media:
    9
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3,999
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Santa Cruz de la Sierra // Bozeman
    Yes.

    Although I had a chat with the PO about it and he said the fobs are not factory. My wife never seems to have a problem with it, so we're thinking that it might just be a sensitivity/weakness in my fob. :rolleyes:
     
  4. bigredmachine

    bigredmachine

    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    442
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Jersey, 07740
    how sure are you that its a factory alarm, could be an aftermarket unit that was designed to work with the factory fobs. check under the dash for a load of wire spaghetti that is indicative of an aftermarket unit
     
  5. Foreigner

    Foreigner

    Messages:
    570
    Media:
    9
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3,999
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Santa Cruz de la Sierra // Bozeman
    It does have a factory alarm and I haven't seen anything to make me think there's an aftermarket unit.

    My wife never had problems with it, so I took the button out of the Panic circuit on my fob and I haven't had any trouble with it since.
     
  6. bigredmachine

    bigredmachine

    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    442
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Jersey, 07740
    could be that you have a bad remote or a button that's sticking causing an issue
     
Tags:
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.