1KZ-TE Smoking and very poor fuel mileage (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Obviously since I said mileage you can tell I'm from the states. I just bought a 1994 Toyota Hiace imported from Japan with the 1KZ-TE motor. It has 222k km with recent timing belt done.

The problem is that it smokes black intermittently and gets horrible fuel mileage (15 mpg, if I drive it lightly). It has good power most of the time. Every once in awhile it will give great power. And sometimes it'll not have much power at all. It idles pretty smooth and starts easy every time.

I'm a gas mechanic of over 20 years by trade. Not much experience with diesels.

Things I've done:

New Toyota injectors, boost sensor and valve, glow plugs, cold air intake, adjusted the fuel to it's lowest setting (which has made it smoke less, I haven't driven it enough to know the mileage, but it still smokes), checked for clogged screens on the injection pump, adjusted the pump, put a boost gauge (shows 8-10 psi, but the gauge bounces around, so not sure how well it's working), changed all the fluids and filters, new primer pump, I have checked the EGR valve, took it off and cleaned it.

After each thing I did it made it run better. But after I changed the injectors the smoke got worse. The fuel mileage had been the same the whole time.

Please help. I'm trying to leave on a long road trip to Costa Rica soon and want great fuel mileage and better performance and no smoke.

Last edited:
Things to check:

- Possibly your ECU is bad (this generation had capacitors that leaked onto the circuit board and eat away the traces...). Although usually the symptoms are different.

- Its possible the Spill Control Valve on the injection pump may have issues. Test it according to the engine repair manual.

- Possibly your injection pump has worse issues than just the spill valve.... This would mean ordering in a rebuilt one.