Caution Idiot Wiring - Need Aux Fan wiring help (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Pathfinder

I am the STIG
Threads
I need help wiring my Aux fan for my LX. here is how I want it wired.

I want the fan to be run only when the cars on. I also want to be able to switch it off and on as needed.

I've read the other threads about wiring to AC compressor etc..

I've attached the wiring diagram that I am trying to get to work. This is my first attempt at wiring anything more complex than speakers so I need a little help. Can you take a look at my diagram and let me know whats not correct.

I have the wires run into the cab. I've tried several configurations and was able to get the relay to kick on/off with the switch however it did not activate the fan. Its got to be something simple however I've not seeing it. :frown:

Thanks again.

Attachments

• wiring diagram.pdf
    87.3 KB · Views: 842
Here is my install write up that you may have seen...In post #3 I talk about the wiring

https://forum.ih8mud.com/80-series-tech/311276-pro-comp-14-aux-fax-install-97-lx450.html

I'm a noob when it comes to electrical so I relied heavily on Sumotoy's write up and even sent him a couple PM's for help. My setup is different because my relay is different so it may not be much help but if you have not read Sumotoy's thread you might want to give it a quick read

https://forum.ih8mud.com/80-series-tech/103188-abcs-80s-cooling-part-ii-aux-fan-wiring.html

Wiring diagram looks fine, I would over rate the relay/cables to keep voltage drop to a minimum and keep the fuse as near to the battery as possible. I assume your ciggy lighter is only powered when ignition is on right?

regards

Dave