And so it begins !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
4/23/11 UPDATE!!! WHAT A RIDE THIS PROJECT HAS BEEN!! IT'S RUNNING AS OF THIS DATE AND AM WRAPPING UP THE DETAILS!! THANKS FOR READING THIS THREAD AND ALL THE ENCOURAGING HELP! Hopefully I'll see some of you guys at some events! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C0_rU3VzI6g

1992 LC................................... check

5.3L LS................................... check

AA. T-case adapter.................... check

Cam, springs, and goodies......... check

This is my first post here. I'm an old Toyota Mechanic at heart, so guess this is kind of a fitting swap.

Is there a better place to keep this updated, or progress on this swap? I'm going to post pictures and what not.

Wayne

Last edited:
awesome...... now lets see the build or tear down pics and write up lolol

A Toyota mechanic would be putting a 4.7 or a 5.7 in.....or a non-US diesel/manual/part time case w/ pto.

:lol:

Last edited:
Stock 440, 4L60E, 700R4, 4L80E, NV4500?

I'm an EX Toyota mechanic, if that makes a difference. Went to T-10 WAAAAAy back in the day too. I'd say I got my start on Toyota's.

Here's my reason for NOT going with a Toyota motor plain and simple. Actually two.

1. I can't use a factory computer and modify it. (I build racing wire harnesses and calibrate computers, so I'm not afraid of running a stand alone, but WHY?) I only really like Motec and Factory reflash equiptment anyway.

2. Cost. Are you kidding me? For 1500 or so, I have engine, trans, ecu and harness, and I'm making it a plug and play system, and for $100, I can tune my own computer.

I sell the MAP ECU speed density stuff for other Toyota's, but you still have to make the factory ECU happy, and forget that. Not on a swap. I've gotten it to even work on a twin turbo Lexuxs ISF, BUT everything had to be perfect.