Canadian BJ42 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So when I was in high school I bought a 1984 BJ60 with SOA 37" Tires and lots of other off road upgrades. I had no clue about what the truck was capable of and never really used it other then a daily driver and towing people (including 2 tow trucks) out of the snow and mud.

I sold it recently just after I got married and it had 498000kms and it was running strong but the frame was rotting out.

After having a fast car and now having a slow boring family car I haven't had any of the joy that I had with my Cruiser. I have recently hunted down and purchased a 1982 BJ42 with 350000kms and LOTS of rust (Best thing is that the frame is COMPLETELY solid!).

I'm an auto body technician so the rust doesn't bother me. I'm slowly taking it apart and brain storming what I'd like to do with it. It has a 5 speed and power steering stock so that was a nice little gift haha. I want to redo the body and powder coat the frame for starters. I also want to do SOA and use the power steering system (along with tilt column) from a 60 series as well as the axle housings from a 60 for 3inch wider stance AND flip my springs for 8inch longer stance.

It's lots of work but I was hoping that people could give me their opinions and I'll see where it takes me! Hopefully this time around I'll use it to at least SOME of its potential. Thanks ahead of time.
Land Cruiser.jpg
IMG_0536.jpg

Last edited:
5 speed and power steering, doesn't get any better than that. Add Turbo to your 3B and you'll be set.

Welcome.

i have done most of the conversions that you are talking about except the 60 axles.. i just used the 40 series ... i flipped the front springs and punched out the main leaf on an iron worker to keep the military rap in the fix mount.. I went with the 4x4 labs high steer arms 6 stud.. along with six shooter knuckles from trail gear..