Which transmission?????? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi All, I am new to the fj40 club and just bought a 69 fj40 with a 350 small block. It still has the 3 speed tranny and 3 speed transfer case. I want to upgrade the tranny to make it more street friendly, but don't know what tranny is best. I am not into rock crawling so the NV4500 and other like it are too much money for a poor guy. Is there a transmission swap I can do for a decent budget that will give me highway drivability and retain the 3 speed transfer case?
Please help! Paul

ptandkids said:
Is there a transmission swap I can do for a decent budget that will give me highway drivability and retain the 3 speed transfer case?
Please help! Paul

Not really. Your best bet is probably a Toyota 4 speed tranny and transfer. I see them all the time on here for $250 or so. Then you get better gears for the street, just remember in 4th gear the ratio is the same.

Agree 100% that there isn't much that's cheap on a Land Cruiser. If money is an issue, spend it on a good tune up, a carb rebuild, and fixing oil leaks. You might consider driving it as is for 6 months to a year to decide what you are really going to want. Once you start modifying, it's a slippery slope.

ptandkids said:
It still has the 3 speed tranny and 3 speed transfer case. I want to upgrade the tranny to make it more street friendly, but don't know what tranny is best.

Welcome! First thing to learn about Cruisers is that anything you do to them isn't really cheap...

As for transmission swaps. What don't you like about the 3 speed? What are you looking for to make the FJ40 more street friendly?