What's up with the weenie horn?

Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
8,118
Location
Kansastitty
The one-note horn screams cheeeeep. What has anyone used to replace it with? A couple of Hellas? Any problem powering 2 horns with one wire?

Ed "beep-beep":eek:
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
8,118
Location
Kansastitty
I ordered my "high tone" horn from the dealer today. Can't wait to quit sounding weetodded. Corey, thanks for the tip.:beer:

Ed
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2006
Messages
1,388
Location
Auburn, WA.
Website
www.yotatech.com
You are welcome.
It is a lot louder.

I had to lay on mine last week when someone cut into my lane in front of me almost hitting my ARB.
Might not have done much damage to the roo, but I did not want them hitting me.
Horns were so loud they flipped me the birdie :D
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
8,118
Location
Kansastitty
You are welcome.
It is a lot louder.

I had to lay on mine last week when someone cut into my lane in front of me almost hitting my ARB.
Might not have done much damage to the roo, but I did not want them hitting me.
Horns were so loud they flipped me the birdie :D


Corey, thanks for your great posts on the mods done to your FJC. The horn went in before I knew it. I was pissed that even with my discount it was $46!!!!
Coulda bought a pair of Hellas for that.
Anyway, I'm much "hornier" now.......thanks to you, uh and the parts guy;)

Ed
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2006
Messages
18
Location
so cal
While changing my FJ's horn I thought "instructions, who needs em?". Can anyone tell me how to locate the horn fuse?
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
5
Location
Foxboro, MA
I'd highly recommend the Stebel (or Wolo Bad-Boy) self contained air horn, it fits into the stock horn location and sounds like a real horn. It does need to be wired with a relay (14ga wire & 20A fuse), as the stock 10A fuse (and wiring) is good for about 2 toots, it will blow the fuse if you lay into the horn for more than a second.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2006
Messages
18
Location
so cal
Who would have guessed the horn fuse is in the fuse box? But which one? The answer must be to pull all the fuses and do a visual check.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
794
Location
morristown nj
Who would have guessed the horn fuse is in the fuse box? But which one? The answer must be to pull all the fuses and do a visual check.
be careful....i dropped a wrench on the open top of the fuse block, and cracked and shorted the AC fuse. To replace that was the single most difficult thing i have ever done, on ANY automobile. ( because there were no instructions on how to take apart the fuse block)
 
Joined
May 4, 2006
Messages
58
Location
Seattle
When I first installed my PIAA horns, one in stock location and the 2nd in the extra horn contection location.
piaa_horns.JPG


I have since rerouted the 2nd horn to the front
DSC01825.JPG



They are MUCH MORE BETTA!!!!!!!
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom