1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TOTALLY NEW TO COMMS AND NAV, NEED PURCHASE ADVISE

Discussion in 'Communication & Navigation' started by silverhorse, Apr 17, 2017.

1. silverhorse

silverhorse

Need some advise on what to buy? So I plan to get into overlanding in the Southeast U.S. I'll be traveling to places I have never been with my younger(all under 9) children.. Safety and being able to communicate in an emergency are top priority. I have been offroading 30 years but I have NO experience with comms or nav, other than my cell phone and Garmin... :) any advice is greatly appreciated on what to purchase!!

thanks, Bill

NW Florida

2. FJ60Seth

FJ60Seth SILVER Star

There is no equal to a sat phone.

3. Dharma Dude

Dharma Dude

Satellite phones work pretty much everywhere. They cost alot; the plans cost alot.
    I would consider this: Garmin Delorme Inreach
    Global reach, texting, GPS tracking and pay-by-the-month plans.
    Can also find the older model for a bit cheaper.

4. silverhorse

silverhorse

thanks guys! I think the sat phone and Inreach would be good options! In addition to those items, I dont have a radio.. anything i can install there for nav or comm?

5. 1911

1911 chupacabra

Media:
    Albums:
    Do you wheel or travel with other vehicles in a group? If so, get what they're using.

If you're solo, a ham radio will give you better range than a cb and access to repeaters, but you need a license to operate one. The license is easy to get though. Lots of bands and options there; some you can talk around the world on - but most folks start out on the 2 Meters band, and lots of clubs and runs are moving to 2 Meters from cb for their trail comm.

silverhorse likes this.
  6. silverhorse

silverhorse

I'm usually solo in state or national parks...

7. silverhorse

silverhorse

Btw, what are repeaters?

8. 1911

1911 chupacabra

Media:
    Albums: