Tired of all the "same", big honking RTT's. So I made a new one.

JJBiggs

Supporting Vendor
Quick disclosure. I am a professional industrial designer with 20 years experience designing and making "things". Do not try this at home without adult supervision. :D

Basically this all started because, I decided to completely simplify the rig & my setup. Over the past few months, I have been working on developing a "better" hard shell roof top tent. I am presently building 2 others to fit on a couple 80 Series LC's. This one is 001 (prototype). The others are coming together really nicely.

I was aiming for an aerodynamic, lightweight and low profile solution. Keeping in mind - it is a good size (54"x91"), I achieved the low profile part @ 5.2" tall and the aero factor. The weight came in at 117lbs. Not terrible for a hard shell tent.

As far as mounting goes, I am adapting a Rhino Rack backbone. Which looks like it will work out great with a total additional mounted height of 7.5" above the roof line.

Stay tuned on this one. I should be mounting it up on the 4Runner soon.

Last edited:

Mogwai

SILVER Star
Very cool dude! Some unsolicited feedback :cool:

Considerations (and I'm not assuming you haven't thought of these things!): rain and making sure no water can get in while closed or open. A nice thick/dense sleeping pad/matress, for me personally that would be nothing less than 4" and more would be a bonus. Also, ability to keep bedding and pillows in the RTT at all times is a huge benefit. A top rack that would still allow you to mount other items like maxtrax.

JJBiggs

Supporting Vendor
Very cool dude! Some unsolicited feedback :cool: