Relocating GX470 backup camera wiring HELP (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello friends, I’ve been lurking on this forum since 2014 but this is the first time I’ve ever posted. (I know, shame on me).

I have a 2007 GX470 and this last weekend I installed the Bison Gear tire carrier. The instructions were garbage but I managed fine on all the mechanical bits. Where I blew it (pun intended) however, was the wiring/relocation of the backup camera.

There were ZERO instructions for this section but I scoured the interwebs and found a few semi-helpful tidbits including this manual from SSO. https://www.southernstyleoffroad.co...CAMERA-RELOCATE-INSTALLATION-INSTRUCTIONS.pdf

I followed their instructions and cut the wires ahead of the connector to then extend them with new wire/butt connectors. I’m by no means a pro at this kind of stuff but I’ve done this process many times on various vehicles and even did it on this project for the relocated license plate bracket. Alas, camera doesn’t work.

I’d originally tried with 18g wire and so I thought maybe that was the issue so I went to the store and bought different gauges but none of those worked either.

Having read literally everything on the web about cameras in Toyotas/Lexus’, I’m thinking maybe the configuration of my individual unit was different and I cut in the wrong place. I can confirm this is the OEM camera but when I cut along the line noted in the SSO instructions, instead of seeing 4, evenly sized wires, There were 2 larger/2 smaller and the larger 2 appeared to have “interior” and exterior wires? ( told you I’m a n00b).

If I could go back and do it again, I’d cut to the left of the quick-connect in the below pic and just extend the camera wires without trying to relocate the quick-connect to behind the carrier but, choices (and mistakes) were made.