New 80 series owner! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys! I am a new 80 series owner and would love to meet other owners in the Chattanooga owner. I am also looking at another truck that doesn’t run and need advice on that.

Welcome; there are several of us with 80s in the area, though not a lot of action on this page lately. Will you be wheeling the rig? What's the question on the one that doesn't run?

Hey guys! I am a new 80 series owner and would love to meet other owners in the Chattanooga owner. I am also looking at another truck that doesn’t run and need advice on that.

Welcome; there are several of us with 80s in the area, though not a lot of action on this page lately. Will you be wheeling the rig? What's the question on the one that doesn't run?
[/QUOTE

I am not a mechanic and the one that isn’t running us being sold by a local used car lot. Obviously it could be many issues and it could be a super easy fix. I wish I had some one who is very knowledgeable that I could take With me to look at it. Are their any ways to discern whether the problem is major versus an issue that involves the starting capabilities of the truck? I don’t want to buy a truck with a blown engine, etc

No run can be a lot or a little. Will the engine turn over at all or is it a DOA rig. DOA make diagnosis super tough.

Check oil for coolant mix, pull a plug or 2, otherwise could be literally anything. Can you get any more info in it? If it is a non-runner with no other info, then it should be super cheap. I mean, that is a sub 1k truck. Anything more with no more info is a gamble. Unless you want a parts truck, then if it has a straight body and the I terror is I. Good shape, it could be worth a minimal investment, but still sub 1k.