Lift vs stock airbags for comfort ride? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Calling for all the folks that experienced 2" lift/suspension and stock suspensions...

I would like to raise my GX470 - which is my daily driver - first for the look and then the offroad capability when I want to overland with friends 4 to 5 times a year. Now I do love the smooth air stock suspension, it feels like floating/hovering over the road.

I read that lift were necessarily stiffer and I am wondering if there is lift kit for the GX that still provides a good level of comfort similar to stock air suspension. It seems the Dobinsons 2" is a good compromise.

Do you guys have feedback to share when comparing stock and 'comfortable' lift kits ?

Oh I also intend to shoe the car with 33s Ko2.

I have some experience with this so Ill say this:

The factory suspension was nice and soft and even kinda floaty. To me it felt a little too floaty and I wasn’t a big fan. Albeit I bought my GX with 170k miles and by 200k it was time for a change.

I put in dobinsons struts, shocks, and springs and couldn’t be happier. I went with a decent lift (about 2.5 inches) all around. I also did UCA, LCA, tie rods, and a few other things too. The ride is night and day different in all aspects. A little bit more firm and much less floaty while still feeling comfortable.

There are many things that I’ve changed and upgraded over the few years I had my GX but I would say that getting rid of the airbags and going with coils was the best thing I’ve done.

Good luck with your choices though as this can very quickly become a money pit as I’m sure many here will agree with 😂

I'll x2 everything stated above even though I just changed the shocks and still have the bags. Once they go I'll swap completely to springs. It's the shocks that give the floaty ride. Too floaty offroad.