KDSS Light Illuminated on Dash [SOLVED] (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi guys and girls. Long-time mud member, very recent GX owner. I currently own a 2009 GX470 Sport w/ KDSS. Like many of you guys, I've had the whole gamut of cruisers starting with a 40 series, several 60 series, an 80, and a hundy. Before the GX, I had a 2006 4Runner V6 for a few years, so I'm pretty familiar with the 120 platform. What I'm still learning is the little extras that Lexus slaps on their trucks.

Anyway, I digress. I've been doing a lot of PM on the truck since I got it t the end of 2015. Everything is like new, with the most extensive maintenance being replacement of the power steering fluid with ATF and removal of the front skid plate - basically cleaning up the bolts with a wire wheel and applying anti-seize, basically SOP here in the midwest.

So, yesterday the KDSS light illuminated on the dash. It was during normal driving on my way home from work. The truck sat outside overnight while I was working, with a mild drop in temperature throughout the night. The truck continued to sit level, the ride quality was relatively unchanged, and no other noted changes.

I came home, got on all the forums to read about KDSS with the general theme being a very expensive repair if any components needed replacing. The costs varied from about $1500-$4000. So, next stop was pulling out the Techstream software and plugging in to the truck. There is some good data feeds on the system pressures and operation of the components, and of course the DTCs.