High mileage synthetic vs regular synthetic (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I know any oil topic can open a can of worms but my main question is if you guys/gals are using high mileage synthetics and at miles you start at. I am new to Land Cruisers. I have had mostly Jeeps. I just sold my last Grand Wagoneer to buy the Land Cruiser. It's a 2009 with 130,000 miles. In the past I would switch to High Mileage around 100,000. I use Mobile 1. Thanks for any input.

Toyota runs full synth in all of their vehicles now. I have been using Mobil 1 full synthetic, not listed as "high mileage", on my LCs and other vehicles for years and have had no issues.

The guys at Black Stone Labs state they just use regular dino oil in their vehicles. If anyone would know what's best they probably do. I think their theory is that as long as it's wet, slippery and not full of bad particulates it's not really going to make any difference on wear.

I think the only way it really matters what you use is if you are in to hyper milage oil changes. In that case you will want to run a high quality diesel HD oil which tend to have a larger additive package than other conventional/synthetics.

I personally only use Toyota 0w-20 synthetic. Toyota has the best lubricants and filters in the industry so it works for me (best meaning there is nothing better with many others being equal).

Last edited:
Does the LC consume excessive oil using full (non-high mileage) snyth
I know any oil topic can open a can of worms but my main question is if you guys/gals are using high mileage synthetics and at miles you start at. I am new to Land Cruisers. I have had mostly Jeeps. I just sold my last Grand Wagoneer to buy the Land Cruiser. It's a 2009 with 130,000 miles. In the past I would switch to High Mileage around 100,000. I use Mobile 1. Thanks for any input.