FJ60 Bluetooth stereo (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I just installed a new stereo in my FJ60. I have been using the music on my phone for a few years now. My phone has a 1TB micro SD card with over 800GB of music. It can play music for over 120 days 24/7 and never play the same song twice. I also use my phone for navigation. There is a magnet mount for my phone that is just above and between the two vents over the heater controls. It is a decent location for viewing. I wanted to have a simple installation and something I could control without having to reach for the buttons on my phone (which is never safe while you are driving).

I took the old stereo out that the previous owner had installed. I put in a NVX Universal Bluetooth Audio Receiver and an amp connected to the old two door speakers. I mounted the bluetooth receiver along with a USB charger and a power switch on a piece of 2" angle aluminum screwed to the center console. All 3 of these inset into 1 1/8" holes. After I drilled the holes, I painted the aluminum angle with some hammered black spray paint. I pulled the drivers seat out to install the receiver/charger/switch bracket onto the console and mounted the amp under the seat. I'll be replacing the door speakers soon and adding some 6 1/2" in the panels in the cargo area. All told I had about 8 hours into this between making & painting the bracket, tracing the door speaker wires and rerouting them to the new amp location, installing the bracket onto the console and wiring the whole thing up.