Aftermarket Suspension Parts (Delphi or OEM) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Newbie here! (Apologies in advance if I missed the sticky to this in the FAQ)

I am well overdue for replacing my cruisers suspension components - they are tired and worn at 229k. I understand the quality and build of Genuine OEM Toyota/Lexus parts however, the prices of the aftermarket parts (Delphi) are quite affordable.
Even if it meant that I would replace these Delphi brand components again in another 80-100k miles, the cost would still be considerably less expensive than OEM parts that may last 120-140k.

Here are a list of the parts I need to replace:

-Upper/lower control arms
-Inner/outer tie rods
-Front/rear Sway bar links & bushings

Does anyone have any experience or input on using Delphi/aftermarket brands to replace their worn suspension components?

Thanks!!

Even if it meant that I would replace these Delphi brand components again in another 80-100k miles, the cost would still be considerably less expensive than OEM parts that may last 120-140k.
More like 20-50k mile lifespan for Delphi trash and 150-200k mile lifespan for Toyota suspension parts. So if you don’t mind replacing everything again in 50k miles, and 50k miles after that, and 50k miles after that, meanwhile you likely wouldn’t replace OEM once in that timeframe, then go ahead. It adds up.

However, I will say that you could probably be fine with Delphi control arms if you swap in Sankei 555 ball joints and Toyota bushings before you install the arms. But at that point, you’re not really saving any money and certainly not saving any time.

Last edited:
@JunkCrzr89 You rock! Thank you! I will stick with OEM.