1fzfe timing issue (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Purchases a running motor to throw into my 40th edition w a blown motor. I chose to do the timing chain and headgasket while it was out. Did the deed and am now im putting it back together

Timing cover on
Head on
Have the crank pull at "0"
When I match the cams one dot
And the two dot marks level with head
The chain sprocket and intake cam do not venter correctly.

Help please. Lol
BTW im a newb
Bad decision to die? I hope not 🤷‍♂️

20201122_155328.jpg

20201122_155332.jpg

20201122_155429.jpg

20201122_155434.jpg

20201122_155332.jpg

Is piston #1 at top dead center (TDC) on the compression stroke when the timing mark is at 0 and you are checking things out? The 0 mark is encountered at other times as well so confirming #1 TDC as well as the 0 mark are both important for positioning the crank before you then setup the cam timings.

Is piston #1 at top dead center (TDC) on the compression stroke when the timing mark is at 0 and you are checking things out? The 0 mark is encountered at other times as well so confirming #1 TDC as well as the 0 mark are both important for positioning the crank before you then setup the cam timings.

#1 was at TDC when I placed the head on but to ensure my timing mark on the pully was dead on zero I had to turn the crank. So seems I need to take the head off and try this again.

I dont think you need to take the head back out. Carefully take the cam sprocket out and rotate it 1 tooth to the left ( counter-clockwise) but make sure you hold the timing chain and dont drop it back down

I dont think you need to take the head back out. Carefully take the cam sprocket out and rotate it 1 tooth to the left ( counter-clockwise) but make sure you hold the timing chain and dont drop it back down