Dizzy Condition Help (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Gurus-
So, I'm just replacing the plugs and rotor/cap on my '82 40 per a suggestion from a fellow 40 owner and when I pulled the dizzy cap off this is what greeted me! Corrosion! How does this look to you guys?? What should I do to clean it? Thanks!!
2012-11-19_14-53-59_180.jpg

I know someone has an opinion somewhere! This is all new to me!

Hey Adam, I'm not a distributor expert by any means, but the auto parts stores have electric parts cleaners available - not sure if those would touch rust/corrosion though.

Yeah, I have a can in the garage.. I don't think it would either... would have nice clean rust though!

That is pretty serious damage.
It is caused by a failure of the dissy cap ventilation system.

Yeah, when I got the truck both ports were open to atmosphere... fixed, but too late

FWIW, the 'open to atmo'was only half the problem.

See the way the black fibre/plastic cover on the electronics is melted away, leaving behind the white fibers?
That is the result of the resin being attacked/vaporized by the ionized oxygen that is present inside the dissy. The vent system forces air to move through the sealed dissy, preventing the buildup of ionized gas.

The advance mechanisms are probably both inoperative. Better get busy looking for another 81-87 dissy.

Jim-
Wow that bad!? It was running pretty well with this dizzy... crazy stuff! So even with it exposed to atmosphere, since the air wasn't being forced through it, it wasn't venting the gases and were just wrecking it? Or was it closed off at some point, you think?

It certainly looks bad. The whole breaker plate is supposed to rotate on a ball bearing ring. Try using the mityvac to pull on the vac advance fittings, see if the advance diaphragms hold vacuum (probably damaged by ionization), and see if the breaker plate even moves (probably rusted in place).