83 FJ60 Build up thread (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have decided to start a thread on the build up of my 1983 FJ60. I have read all the great threads in the 40 & 55 section and haven't seen one in the 60 section yet.

I have never rebuilt a car from the ground up, so I am not an expert (please bear with me). I wanted to give myself a bodyshop 101 course while attempting to give back what others here have provided to me.

I bought a blue FJ60 with gray interior in July of 2006 with 233k miles on it. The clutch was out and the PO had put an electric fuel pump on when the mechanical pump went out. There is rust around the rear wheel wells, and some minor body damage. The interior is worn out, but complete.

I am not going to "restore" the truck. I am going to rebuild the 60 from the frame up but change things to suit me (paint color, seats, etc.). I will keep the original 2F and drivetrain. The end result will be a daily driven truck that I can say honestly say "I rebuilt it".

This is going to be a long project as I have two little boys and have to travel on occasion for work. I will try to update as often as I can.

Thanks all!

Last edited:
Disassembly work

Got about 3.75 hours total on the FJ60.

45 minutes on 12/26 removing the grill and headlight covers.

1 hour on 12/29 attempting to remove the front bumper and apron. The PO had ran the truck into something on the driver front side and pinched the front bumper into the apron. Ended up removing the headlights instead - Had to use easy out to get the screws out.

2 hours on 12/30 removing the apron, bumper, hood latch support, hood springs and hood. I had to drill out one of the bolts on the bumper to get the bumper off.

Last edited:
Sounds cool. I'll look forward to following you.