Yet another newbie birfield job.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have been baselining the land pig since I bought it a few months ago and had ordered a front rebuild kit with bearings off EBAY. Sad to say that though I thought it was a great deal at $210.00 shipped, I found Cruiser Outfitters carries the same kit right in SLC for 170.00 over the counter.

Good part was all Koyo and NTN bearings.

I have torn a few chev front ends apart in my day, but never seen a birfield before this beast. Looked through a few other threads and then talked my buddy Bret "green 96 LX" into helping me. About 7 hrs total for both sides.

A few pics. PS was dirty brown watery goo, DS was almost dry. The brass bushing on the back of the spindle was burned and needs replaced. Talked to CDAN and he tells me that the newer version retro fits and has a bearing instead of a bushing. It's also cheaper. 47 vs 65 bucks. It's on it's way.

A few photos.
My blackie in front, Bret's LX all growed up in the back. Someday.
Birfield job may 28 004.jpg

The crud from the PS knuckle. glad I got this thing redone.

Birfield job may 28 009.jpg

All clean and ready to go back together.

Birfield job may 28 013.jpg

Not as bad as I thought it would be. Fascinated by the engineering in the knuckle and the birfield. it truly is built tank tuff....
Birfield job may 28 004.jpg
Birfield job may 28 009.jpg
Birfield job may 28 013.jpg

Final pics... all pretty and back together.

The final assembly included new slotted/drilled rotors I had been hanging onto from pro-stop.

Drives nice, all new bearings, seals, gaskets, wipers etc... changed out the diff oil as well.

Birfield job may 28 015.jpg

maiden voyage on new joints.

Alpine Loop May 29 2010 392.jpg
Birfield job may 28 015.jpg
Alpine Loop May 29 2010 392.jpg