Yellow Jacket finally got an FZJ80 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Thought I'd make an intro / maintenance / "build" thread. I won't be breaking any new ground here, but thought I would try to document my ownership and any wrenching I do. As much for my own records as anything.

I'm still relatively new to Cruisers. I had a '76 40 for the last three years and recently sold it. In part because I wanted to get an 80 series. It didn't take me long, 3 weeks in fact. I ended up with an unlocked LX450, which wasn't my first choice, but it was a clean CA truck that had only been on the East Coast for a year. God bless military transfers. It was too nice to pass up.

So I jumped in the Tundra and headed ~4.5 hours down to Norfolk to grab it and bring it home. It was a Sunday, so I couldn't get a PPI, so I had to rely on my own experience. The 40 helped with that a lot. Test drive was great. Everything worked and no codes. PO was a MUD guy in hiding. Hasn't posted much, but been on the site and using the collective knowledge to maintain the truck. He had done the PHH, front axle rebuild, fixed several oil leaks, replaced the radiator, and a bunch of other stuff. I did the chemical test (Autozone version) for a head gasket failure and it passed no issues, so I struck and deal and strapped her down to the POS Uhaul trailer. My Tundra towed like a champ. Gotta love a 5.7L V8, but gas mileage SUCKED. The 80 did push it around some though, but I never felt unsafe. It just made its presence known. Got home safely with zero drama.

Here's what it looked like when I picked it up:

20161024_180427.jpg
20161024_180331.jpg
20161024_180301.jpg
20161024_175944.jpg
20161024_180010.jpg

some undercarriage shots. It has a little surface rust, but nothing by East Coast standards.

20161024_181319.jpg
20161024_181329.jpg
20161024_181404.jpg
20161024_181605.jpg

Looks like a good find.