1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

wiring up off road lights on rack

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by cruiser80, Feb 22, 2007.

  1. cruiser80

    cruiser80

    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    El Paso TX
    Hey Guys!

    i just had my safari rack built and i want to mount some off road lights on it. my only concern is wiring them up. where can i run the wires from the roof into the cab? i dont want to drill any holes. do you have any ideas how to do this? has anyone done this and how did they do it. thanks for your help in advance.:D
     
  2. Capocaccia

    Capocaccia

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    I can post pictures of mine tomorrow and how I wired it.
     
  3. Arya Ebrahimi

    Arya Ebrahimi

    Messages:
    3,373
    Likes Received:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Location:
    Rockville, MD
    There is a very easy way to run a power wire from the engine compartment to the roof with almost 100% concealment, and I can guarantee no holes in your roof and no leaks.

    Here's the trick. If you peel back the rain gutter trim down by the cowl, you will see there is a hidden channel. Basically you run the power wire from the rack, down this channel, under the cowl(this involves a bit of work getting the cowl loose enough to slip the wire underneath), and into the engine bay. Once the wire is in place the gutter trim simply snaps back on and the wire is concealed!

    Mine is wired like this, and by carefully tucking the wire in the rain gutter until it gets to one of the rack's feet, you cannot tell there are any wires connecting to the rack. BTW, I grounded the rack to the roof with a short piece of wire to one of the factory roof rack bolts. That takes care of the ground issue.

    Good luck!

    Ary
     
  4. cruiser80

    cruiser80

    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    El Paso TX


    Thanks alot! that would be great!
     
  5. Filmpros

    Filmpros

    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    New York & California
    Is there enough room for an antenna wore instead of a power line?

    Rich


     
  6. Arya Ebrahimi

    Arya Ebrahimi

    Messages:
    3,373
    Likes Received:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Location:
    Rockville, MD
    Possibly. Haven't tried it. The hardest part I think would be at the cowl, not the rain gutter. It really isn't hard to peel that piece of trim back. If I had a piece of coax handy I would go try it, but I don't.

    Ary
     
  7. SOCALFJ

    SOCALFJ

    Messages:
    5,657
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Forest Falls, CA
    Hey Ary,

    Quick question about this setup. How do you run multiple lights with more than one relay if you only have the 1 power lead? Where did you split the lead? Do you have your relays in the engine bay or up on the rack?

    thanks
     
  8. FloridaFJ80

    FloridaFJ80 Roaming Land Cruiser Heaven Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    3,127
    Media:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Location:
    Ashburn, Va
    I have the same question about this, when you buy a complete for light kit from anywhere it comes with two lights, a relay and a switch plus all the wiring. So my question is, if i want a total of 4 lights and I buy a kit with two lights and then i buy 2 separate lights, how do I integrate them to the wiring that came with the Complete Kit? Or is this even possible?
     
  9. okefenokeefzj80

    okefenokeefzj80

    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Location:
    Okefenokee, GA
    I have a snorkel on my 80 and that is how my wires are run/concealed...If you don't have a snorkel, then Arya's way would probably be the best.
     
  10. NVR ENUF

    NVR ENUF

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Location:
    SoCAL
    This is exactly how I wanted to wire my aux lights too but with 4 up front and 2 in the back, I couldn't squeeze all the wiring thru the cowl and I wanted the 3 pairs of lights to all operate independantly.:frown: Well, I decided to drill at the most accessible spot for me on the roof and it worked out great. Used a rubber gromit and for good measure I used silicone with a sharp needle nose opening and squeezed it in between the wires. Washed the rig 3x already and checked for leaks and none to be found.:)
     
  11. SOCALFJ

    SOCALFJ

    Messages:
    5,657
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Forest Falls, CA
    Got pics of this?
     
  12. Brentbba

    Brentbba Former Golfer SILVER Star

    Messages:
    10,046
    Likes Received:
    455
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    OC, CA
    Where did you drill the hole? Pics?????
     
  13. SOCALFJ

    SOCALFJ

    Messages:
    5,657
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Forest Falls, CA
    BTT

    Pics please!!!
     
  14. NVR ENUF

    NVR ENUF

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Location:
    SoCAL
    If your lights allow you to ground the negative to the rack, then you'll only have the positive wire going down the cowl and if all 3 pairs are installed the same, then only 3 +wires needed to go down the cowl which should fit IMO. I wired my lights according to instructions since I'm no electrician, therefor many wires. I'm sure I could've grounded them all to the rack but only the rear lights are done so since that's what the manual showed.

    I wanted to drill behind the rack bracket but I opted for the easier access area. I was able to fish the wires thru the hole and down the A-pillar.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Brentbba

    Brentbba Former Golfer SILVER Star

    Messages:
    10,046
    Likes Received:
    455
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    OC, CA
    Thanks for the pics!
     
  16. SOCALFJ

    SOCALFJ

    Messages:
    5,657
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Forest Falls, CA
    Yes, thank you. Im still trying to find a good way to wire my overhead rack lights.

    Put some wire loom on that, will look 10x better.

    Anyone have any pics of a Snorkel wire install? Im still trying to figure out how you run it into the engine bay out of the tube at the end? You put a hole in your filter box? lol
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2007
  17. NVR ENUF

    NVR ENUF

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Location:
    SoCAL
    Sure thing!

    I do have some wire loom lost in the garage somewhere and I refuse to buy more until I know for sure I can't find it.:D
     
  18. RescueU

    RescueU

    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Northern VA
    I have been planning this very same project for a long time now, with countless hours scanning the forums for tidbits. All I can say is, I really appreciate the postings.

    I have a Snorkel install looming quickly and plan on running wiring for independent light controls at front, left side, right side, and rear(x2). Additionally, I'm mounting a Diamond K9000 motorized antenna mount up on the rack, so I'll want to run the power/control wire and the thin coax as well using one of the rain gutters.

    First thing to sort out is do I run the antenna or lights wiring along the right side with the snorkel?

    Second, I've always wanted to have the flexibility to be able to remove the rack if needed. So, I've searched high and low for a connector set, waterproof (IP67 or IP68 rated) that can handle 5 pins for power and a 6th for ground. I've found lots of different versions out there, but deciding on one and making sure I've got the right amperage draw/capacity of the connector accounted for is what's holding up this project.

    Has anyone used a waterproof disconnect solution for their truck, or any truck for that matter? I'd love to hear about it.

    Thanks!
     
  19. NLXTACY

    NLXTACY Wits' End Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    21,636
    Media:
    23
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    11,877
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    West Hills, CA
    X2 disconnect is important. Maybe MOUSER has a waterproof MOLEX connector??