why is the fj62 so expensive (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hellow Members:
I am new to all of this hope I post it correctly so here goes.....I am looking at several fj62 and dont know what to look for.Seems everyone thinks they are worth as much as a new vehicle,what gives???? I have seen them from $3000 all the wayto $12000 with a zillion miles.So the question is take a low mile over high...take a no rust with high miles or just keep looking???????? i dont want to have a 250000 mile vehicle with 10000 worth of new parts just to be a driver/wheeler.Looking at a real clean 89 has 190000 but no ust that i can see anywhere,frame clean door openings all rust prone places look clean.It does need a torque convtr soon but runs great after warmed up 4800 asking please help me decide. thanks all .

Well 62 had a short production, only 88-90, I recall only 5000 a year came into the US and they are kinda a clasic IMOP.

Not sure where you are at but last night I saw a 88 with 89,000 miles for 6k in Seattle WA, do a search in Auto Trader, 100 miles from Zip 98332 and it will come up, havn't seen it but I got a feeling its prolly a nice one.......most of the WA 62's have lived a good life ;)

Like any other LAnd Cruiser, you get what ou pay for. I based my purchase of a FJ62 on what I wanted out of it
and what I could put into it. I hate body work but like mechanics so high miles was no biggie but rust was a
red flag. I just write up a tally sheet of what I want and don't want and start searching for the beat deal given
my constraints. JL