Where'd You Guys Learn to Weld? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I want to learn. Learning from an instructor is optimal, but can it be adequately self taught? I'm not looking for anything fancy, just enough to fix some sheet metal on a 40 when I need to. :D

Take a class. I fully believe that there is no such thing as teaching yourself to weld. Ironically, in the trades there are a lot of non profession weldors working as welders - called gypsey welders in the trades meaning they are working as a welder, but don't have any certifications or training. Translation, dangerous.

I took a class ten years ago at Fairfax County Adult ed, but sadly the class has since been canceled along with their welding program in general. They decided that it was better to have another math teacher than a welding industrial arts program :rolleyes: A whole bunch of guys from CLCC took the class together and we had a great time. We started at NVCC but then switched over to Fairfax because they instructor put together a custom oriented class for us geared to automotive welding vs. learning for the trades one step at a time.

You can probably find a class somewhere in MD. If you have vacation time and really, really want to learn fast you can take a week long at the Lincoln Welding School. They even have a class called "Motor Sports Welding".

Nova or NVCC has a welding program but it's geared very much towards pros learning. Bob Warden the instructor out there died recently. He was a very nice guy. IIRC Sebastian took a class out there?

Get a welder, when I get back, I'll teach you the basics. Look for a Hobart Handler 140 or Millermatic 130 . For rust and body work 110V is all that you need.