Wheel Fitment and Step Bars? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am a newbie owner (one of those) of a '94 FZJ80. I have had to do all the usual repairs that most encounter on this forum (ex. Mirrors, visors, pwr steering pump, dash lights, pesky htr hose, seat belts, and ...). Now I was hoping to put some money in some dress up goodies.
WHEELS: I would like to use modern TRD style wheels, like the AGP Trail Warrior wheels. The specs appear to be spot on. I've heard these do not fit without a spacer/ adaptor? Why is this? If they can be used with a spacer can you please send me a link to a recommended set?
STEP BARS: Im over 6 feet tall and have no trouble getting in/out of the rig. My vertically challenged wife needs a step. My truck is a daily driver and weekend trail runner. It will never be a Rock Warrier, so I don't need rock sliders.
Can someone recommend a brand-model of a good heavy-duty step bar or heavy-duty running board set that will directly bolt to the 80 Series? I can't seem to find any, other than sliders.
Thanks to all of your help in advance!

Could always use the factory running boards some of the 80s got. Most people would likely give theirs away

Could always use the factory running boards some of the 80s got. Most people would likely give theirs away
Yes, the OEM running boards are a consideration, however I would prefer a bar /step look. If I can't find a bolt-on bar design, then I will seek out a set of factory boards. Thanks for the insight.

You can get the White Knuckle Off Road sliders set up at zero degrees for more step function, yet still have the piece of mind a slider gives you. And they bolt on to the frame vs the body like the OEM steps.
For the price of "nerf" bars that look like sliders and are also weak steps, I'd rather spend the money for real sliders that double as steps.