what is the best way to go through the firewall

Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
4,545
Location
in the nappy dugout
I am trying to run a CB cable from the front of my ARB bumper to the cab. What is the best way to get it through fire wall??
thanks??
 

Mike S

 
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
2,537
What I have done when wiring through the firewall is to route cables to the driver side fire wall, where there is a cable pass through with a rubber grommet. Using a stiff wire (coat hanger, brazing rod or similar) I pull the wire through there. This gets it to the back of the dash on the driver's side - way back in the corner. From there you can route it wherever you want.

M
 

2mbb

SILVER Star
 
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2003
Messages
4,664
Location
WC, CA
Yes, there is another grommet on the passenger's side. you can see it from inside the engine compartment. Inside the passenger compartment, it's difficult to see because there's stuff in front of it (heater or A/C maybe). Your radio antenna cable goes through the passenger side grommet.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
4,545
Location
in the nappy dugout
Cool, i saw the passenger grommet, now, i am taking it that i need to cut into the grommet in order to get it to fit through???
cheers..
 

Mike S

 
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
2,537
Don't cut it unless you must. Try pushing the wire through from the passenger compartment side, bend a U in it, and fasten the end of the cable to it and duct tape it. Then PULL it through. Usually works OK.

M
 

2mbb

SILVER Star
 
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2003
Messages
4,664
Location
WC, CA
I have a pair of hemostats that are about 12inchs long--they are like long thin needle nose pliers. I've used these from the ending compartment side to open up the hole in the grommet enough to push a cable through.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2004
Messages
144
Location
wishing I was in Briland
Just saw this thread. I just got finished running my CB cable through the passenger side rubber, using the factory antenna cable to pull. I'm addicted to sirius satellite, so i dont' need am/fm. I mounted my 4' firefly where the factory antenna went----took a lot of futzing to get a good ground, but I finally got SWR readings of 1.2 to 2! :grinpimp:

I've finally arrived as a redneck--my first CB! ;)
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
4,545
Location
in the nappy dugout
2mbb said:
I have a pair of hemostats that are about 12inchs long--they are like long thin needle nose pliers. I've used these from the ending compartment side to open up the hole in the grommet enough to push a cable through.
dood, that just gave me an idea - i can use my c-clip pliers.... :idea:
 

lovetoski

SILVER Star
 
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2003
Messages
4,628
One trick for threading wires through these gromments is to use a piece of brass (or similar) tubing. The tubing is stiff enough to work through the gromment, then you just slip the wire through the tubing. Very easy.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
4,545
Location
in the nappy dugout
lovetoski said:
One trick for threading wires through these gromments is to use a piece of brass (or similar) tubing. The tubing is stiff enough to work through the gromment, then you just slip the wire through the tubing. Very easy.
wires would be easy to do that with, but a CB cable has a connector on the end that is the size of a nickel.
 

polarweasel

Where's mah cruzah?
 
Joined
May 6, 2004
Messages
991
Location
Vancouver Island, BC
I would remove the connector and re-solder it when you're done. Coax is stiff enough that it should push through the grommet just fine. As an added bonus, by re-soldering the connection, you'll end up with a better joint at the connector. :)
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
4,545
Location
in the nappy dugout
polarweasel said:
I would remove the connector and re-solder it when you're done. Coax is stiff enough that it should push through the grommet just fine. As an added bonus, by re-soldering the connection, you'll end up with a better joint at the connector. :)
hummm, seems like more work than i want to do with this thing. Besides, i dont have a solder gun :D
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2004
Messages
144
Location
wishing I was in Briland
Simple in my case--the Firestick coax came bare (no connector) on the radio end, so I ran it first, then threaded/soldered the connector on. I ran it by overlapping it w/ the original cable end, wrapping overlapping electrical tape over the joint, and then pulling. Undo the tape and solder on the connector.


Russ, in my case the grommet was soft enough that pushing and pulling did the trick--just forced it through.
 
Top Bottom