Westfalia pop top roof for VW Vanagon (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello Forks,

I am a newbie here to this forum (please excuse my Japaglish since I am not native English speaker).

I have owned '97 FZJ80 since 2015. My 80 is totally stock,and salvage title (not-straight frame. but it is not a major issue for LandCruiser, right? ;)).

I recently found the used Westfalia pop top roof (OK condition...) at the local Vanagon shop and bought it. I thought it might fit on my 80's roof with small modification and I can find the replacement parts (for example: tent) easily.
However, it is much bigger than 80's roof (I thougtht).

Have anyone tried it before? I know CampTeq or AluCab offers the perfect pop top roof for TLC. But I am cheap... cannot afford it.

Any comments are much appreciated!

p1-6.jpg

Buy a used VW - it'll fit perfect 👌👌
No kidding. I've seen a ton of wannabe van dwellers dumping these VW vans already and they are going pretty cheap. I'm guessing if you wait a year they'll be liquidating those things left and right.

Oh man! I don't have much to offer but I'm super interested in this idea if you move forward! I have a Westfalia EuroVan that doesn't run and if I can't get it running, I have thoughts to do something similar!

I do know that if you search hard enough you will find people who have done projects like this in the deep nooks and crannies of the internet. Somebody did this with a Chevy Astrovan, something similar with a Ford van, CaveVan does top swaps, GoWesty has some descriptions that can help. I don't have the exact links but Googling some of those could get you started.