Welding technique - WAY out of position... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

woody

Staff member
Admin
Threads
I've been doing quite a bit of welding lately on the frame....mounts for the motor and tranny and such...anything that is horizontal or on a verticle plane is no problem

but anything that is upsidedown sucks....bottom of frame, bottom-side of any angles, etc....

Is there a good trick to not end up with chunks of weld spatter burning thru my shirt and leaving burn tracks down my chest/back??

Wire speed? Heat range? etc??

upside down

I'm no welding expert, but the only way I've avoided the 'drips' with the mig welder is to do little stitches. Almost like a spot weld, get it to penetrate in one spot then stop, let the puddle cool, then do it again, just a slight movement away.

Plus, I have finally bought welding leathers to cover the arms and chest, after 2nd degree burns in the crook of my elbow. They have a zillion burn marks on them, that would've been on me, otherwise. Loosing the fear of incineration allows you to focus on trying to get a good weld.

I pop riveted leather around my helmet so my neck wouldnt burnt (happened on first upside down weld) and i also use a leather jacket too. These two things should really help you. I wear them all the time just as safety.

Velocity2 said:
I pop riveted leather around my helmet so my neck wouldnt burnt (happened on first upside down weld) and i also use a leather jacket too. These two things should really help you. I wear them all the time just as safety.

Isn't it hard to eat with that mask on? :flipoff2: Let alone showering in a leater jacket.

not nearly as tuff as the autodark lense kicking on when the light turns green.... :flipoff2:

good point on doing short welds, will try that on my next project...DID track down my welding jacket tho, and that saved me....too bad the first burns were doozies...lol