1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wallpapering question

Discussion in 'Chit-Chat' started by IDave, Aug 10, 2005.

1. IDave

IDave

Media:
    Albums:
    I need to glue down the edge of curling off wallpaper in my bathroom. What would the experienced suggest as a glue/medium etc? I'm thinkin' oatmeal paste won't work. It is a humid place, of course, and that is the problem.

Before anyone asks, wallpapering the bathroom was the ex's idea, over my protestations (for just this reason). :D

2. osagecruiser

osagecruiser

idave

check the hardware store they make specialty glues these days...glue for high humidty...vinyl over vinyl ect. i guess anyone of the big home stores would carry it also

osagecruiser :)

3. PHBeerman

PHBeerman

The paint store will have specialty glue that comes in a pink and white tube. We called it 66 when I used to hang wallpaper for a living.

4. IDave

IDave

Media:
    Albums:
    Thanks, I'll check that out!

5. Degnol

Degnol

Media:
    Albums:
    Dave, I spray the unglued edge with water and let it soak for a couple of minutes before using the edge glue. It makes it easier to smooth the paper back down, that is unless you are using solid vinyl. Most of that edge glue is like Elmer's and I hope you never want to strip that off, cause the newly glued edge will not give it up easily. GL

Ed

6. Jman

Jman

Did you use vinyl wallpaper, or paper? IIRC, the paper is a bad choice for a humid environment, no matter what adhesive you may use.

But you probably already know that.

Any chance you can seal the paper with something? Like a clear acrylic spray? Just a thought if new adhesive doesn't work.

7. IDave

IDave

Media:
    Albums:
    Yah, it's paper. And I know its a bad choice. The compromise (over just paint, which was my choice) was that I got to choose the pattern, so I actually sort of like it.