VSS for TBI conversion (1 Viewer)

Joined
Oct 13, 2003
Messages
1
Does anyone know if the old maintenace due sensor will work as a vss input for a tbi conversion?
 

woody

Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Messages
10,325
Location
Toquerville UT
I did the JTR VSS...you need the speedo extentino cable to run it. (see my tech writeup on it)

Not sure it's necessary with a stick, more necessary with an auto.
 

fj55-100

SILVER Star
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
1,204
Hey im running the old cruise signal generator out of a 91 Lc in my fj55 to power the ecu speed circut but i am also using a 01 Lc v8 motor so the signals are similar. The vss for this is a 4 pulse reed swich. I think many of the chevys are also. I have more info on this subject let me know if you need more
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,027
Location
Olympia, WA
I think you really only need VSS for EGR, cruise, A/T. A desmogged M/T will run fine w/o it.

Now, for using the speed marker on the Land Cruiser, you would need to convert the 4 pulse per rev to 2 pulse per rev. I tried but couldn't get it to work. I went the JTR route too.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Messages
277
Location
Coeur d’Alene, Idaho
You already have a VSS in your FJ60 that works fine for this conversion. All the GM computer really needs is a signal from this indicating that you are moving. As mentioned earlier the VSS produces double the impulses of what the GM one does. So the stock one works fine. The only problem you will run into is when you hook up something like WINALDL to monitor your vehicle. It will tell you that you are going twice as fast as you actually are. I am told that the other use for the VSS signal is when you are using the highway cruising mode. This mode is activated at certain speeds and you would need to be able to enter the higher speed into the eprom program. Don't know if that works though.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
1,930
Location
A balanced city
Ok so this is an old thread but was wondering if anyone has anything to add??? Looking to run a VSS but want to make sure A I need it and B which one I need.

I am running a 350 TBI out of a 1988 Chevy truck and have a 700r4 tranny thanks for any help

Tim
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2003
Messages
1,399
Location
granite falls WA.
try downey off road, i have one of there old catalogs and they make several VSS adapters or setups depending if you need 2 pulse or 4 pulse or what tranny you are running and if 4 bolt rear extension or 6 bolt on the 700R4 or 4L60E. there catalog has a lot of info on it, to much to post here so call them or try there web site www.downeyoff-road.com or call 562-949-9494 good luck! wish i could help more but i have not gone TBI or TPI yet.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2002
Messages
467
Location
Indianapolis, Indiana
The VSS can be programmed out of the ECM/PROM. Depending where you reside you may or not need it to pass smog testing. The TBI portion of the ECM/programming doesn't care if you are moving or at what speed.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
1,930
Location
A balanced city
See that is part of my question/problem....I do have to pass smog here in the great state of Cali and just wanted to gather as much info as I can..thanks for all the help...
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2002
Messages
1,373
Location
New Hampshire
I'm still a little unclear on this too. Smog isn't an issue for me, so i'm not worried about that. I have a 93 tbi 350 from a blazer that was originally mated to I believe a 4l60e. I plan on a howell harness and running either the stock cruiser 4spd or an nv4500. Depends on how much cash is on hand when I am finally able to do the swap. Do I even need a VSS? Howell only mentions it for autos too, but the downey catalog kinda makes me wonder. Seems like a lot changed between 92 and 93. I'm starting to wonder if it might be easier to just run a carb. or if I don't need a VSS , do I have to change the eprom to one for a standard? This all seemed like it would be easy until I started reading all this stuff.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
3,573
Location
N KY
I am running a 93 TBI 350 to an SM 465... I run the JTR VSS. I had one of those neat little elbow fittings from an old car that turned the VSS upwards and cleared my skid plate but the reed inside broke when my speedo cable burned against the manifold :crybaby:

ECM threw a code for VSS...upon decelleration (sp), the code would come up and it would run poorly, I notched my ckid plate, hooked up the JTR VSS and viola! no code and runs great..

The VSS does affect other sensors at particular speeds, especially taking a 350 for an auto tranny to a manual.. I changed the PROM to a manual PROM and again, viola! idles fine and runs perfect.

Let me know if I can help, I have the PROM part number from GM that worked well for me.

Buenas Suerte!
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
1,930
Location
A balanced city
I should explain myself better I guess. I am a GM idiot :) I had the swap done and am now trying to tie up some loose ends. I don't have a VSS and trying to figure out if I need one and if so which one... The truck seems to run ok but I always have a check engine light and without a scanner have no idea why the light is on....The truck starts and runs fine but within a few minutes the light comes on...Guess I should find someone with a scanner before I throw any money at the truck...thanks guys...guess I am doing this a little backwards... :beer:
 

Texican

s-Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2002
Messages
6,034
Location
Bonham Tx.
Webster said:
You already have a VSS in your FJ60 that works fine for this conversion. All the GM computer really needs is a signal from this indicating that you are moving. As mentioned earlier the VSS produces double the impulses of what the GM one does. So the stock one works fine. The only problem you will run into is when you hook up something like WINALDL to monitor your vehicle. It will tell you that you are going twice as fast as you actually are. I am told that the other use for the VSS signal is when you are using the highway cruising mode. This mode is activated at certain speeds and you would need to be able to enter the higher speed into the eprom program. Don't know if that works though.

where is the vss on FJ60's?
I need more info....
Butch
 

Texican

s-Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2002
Messages
6,034
Location
Bonham Tx.
calfj60 said:
Texican,

Glad that you joined this thread...you are the man and will allow me to learn from your knowledge.....thanks

Well I'm honored, but still desire webster to share the VSS info off an FJ60 with us, I have never hooked the VSS up on all my TBI conversions, but all are manual trans, doing my first auto now. so I'll find out if there are issues without one on this one.
Butch
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2002
Messages
467
Location
Indianapolis, Indiana
I just talked to my contact at Howell-Efi to get the lowdown on my engine swap. Its a 2001 4.3 vortec, and he told me I need a vss. They sell them, so thats not a problem. He indicated he cannot program out the need for it, on the ecm I will use. Failureto use one will result in codes being thrown, but NO trouble otherwise. Earlier 7471227 ecms didn't require one.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom