Upgrading Stereo Q's

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Posted this in electronics section too... crickets... tumble weed rolls through town...:rolleyes:

So i hate to double post, but was wondering if those of you that have upgraded your stereo could chime in?

Looking for length of wire if i upgrade/rewire my 4 door speakers (from Tuffy). Also - thinking of using a 4ch amp to power them - where is a good spot to put it? (under DS is out - stock tools there).

Does anyone have 10's in the back quarters as subs? I'm not sure if they will fit, but would like to try. Should i run two amps if these fit (one for each 10)? or can i use one amp for both sub? Since most sub amps are mono...not sure...

I'm a noob on car audio... thanks for any suggestions!

rob

I'm looking at some 16 or 12 awg voodoo OFC wire (ebay not too spendy), or some nicer VHAudio wire... Just not sure if it's worth 8+$ a foot.

I wouldnt recommend subs in the side panels- The cardboard wouldn't be able to stand up to the vibrations, as it can barely handle my 6x9s. Also, the acoustics would be poor.

TOME - thanks man. I have 1/4" plastic instead of the carboard right now. I also will be lining the entire quarter w/ Damplifier Pro and possibly topped with Luxury Liner Pro...(if i have enough LLP) So hopefully a bit sturdier than stock and more sealed to act as an enclosure.

Here's a pic from my damplifier install showing hte rear panel w/ a 6x9 currently. I will be getting new panels if i try and go w/ 10's.
DSC_7879.JPG

Thanks!!
rob