Transfercase Rear Output Shaft Seal( help!!!) (1 Viewer)

hi all,
theres a leak on my transfercase rear output shaft, i concluded that it was the rear shaft seal, shaft seal was already replaced yesterday and it did nothing to solve my problem, it leaks too much, specially when truck is in inclined position it pours oil.
thanks on any information i can get
stephen

Website
www.geocities.com
Also, silicone on splines/washer helped my remaining seepage after a new seal. Sounds like you're having more than seepage though--so Trollhole's suggestion is probably the main fix.

Before you pull the drum: check whether the leak is coming from the inside/bottom of the drum (seal) or the front/center/nut area (splines).

HTH. -Ed '70FJ40

Check the output for play(jup/down- side/side) if there is any you should rebuild the case or it will leak until you do.

thanks for all your inputs guys, what is meant by speedy sleeve by trollhole? im really new in 40's so i need more elaboration on that, anyway i check where the leak is coming out from, its from the buttom of the drum seal, is this where im going to put a sleeve on it?
thanks again, i will also try putting a silicone on the spline and also in the washer/nut
stephen

Website
www.birfield.com
Drain the xfer case
drop the rear DS (block the wheels)
remove the nut holdin the emergency brake (EB) on.
Remove the drum.
remove the EB backing plate
replace the seal
take drum to local (competent) auto parts place and ask about a "chicago rawhide speedy sleeve" to repair the grooved sealing surface on your EB drum.
re-assemble.
smile and drive!
PMK

spotcruiser

Geezer
SILVER Star
Follow the FSM. Don't forget to properly torque and then stake the nut holding the drum brake on.

I agree that he may need a speedi sleeve, but $33? at Specter plus $12.00 shipping when you can get the same thing at a local autoparts store for like $23.00? I have bought stuff from SOR, but not anything I could get close to home.

JMO

Ed

yzftaco