Transfercase preload- Bearing retainer ACTUAL torque is it 25ft. lbs? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Ive just about got my transfercase buttoned up but now stuck on the preload. Ive read coolermans rebuild and watch George's rebuild also. Both very helpful- Im now trying to measure the preload with a fishscale and not sure about what the actual reading. Coolerman says 12-13 lbs on the scale. FSM measures in inch/lbs. 6.1-10.4 inch-lbs.

I followed the method in the FSM and got .34 lbs. Coolerman states 12-13 lbs. seams quite high to me. Anyone help out with this?

Also the output bearing retainer torque in the Toyota trans manual says 25 ft. lbs. Coolermans says 12-14 ft. lbs. The FSM actually doesnt provide it. 25 seemed on the high side as I was torqueing down. One of the bolts stretched. Anyone confirm these numbers.

This is for a 78 t case.

thanks

Last edited:
I'm no expert on rebuilding cases, but I went through the same thing on my case. In fact, the idler shaft gears had too much end play on mine. I added a shim to it to get it in spec. When putting the output shaft back together, I started with the shims that were in it under the rear cover, and had minimal preload. I then began adding shims. I think I may have bought the pack of shims from SOR or Toyota. Either way, I think I ended up with most of them stacked under the rear cover before I got anywhere close to the preload as you are describing. Some things to remember. The gasket can have some effect on this. The original gasket was pretty thin. I reused the one I had taken off while setting preload, then did the RTV skim coat to the new one, which was pretty thin and buttoned it up. You also need to get the rear nut on the drum torqued down good each time. I left the seals out while I set everything up, then put them in, the ebrake backing plate, etc when I was all done.