transfer case leak and e-brake question

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by milesstarkey, Jul 28, 2005.

  1. milesstarkey

    milesstarkey

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    71 fj40
    stock 3 spd t/case

    it's been leaking for a while, i've circled the spot it's dripping from in the picture. question one: is there a gasket i need or how do i fix this?

    question two: since my e-brake cable is cut and i have no parts in the cab for an e-brake, can this whole part just be removed, if so, what part do i need to hook up the drive shaft straight to the t/case?

    (thus eliminating the need to fix the leak in question one.)
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2006
  2. HawkDriver

    HawkDriver

    Messages:
    3,221
    Media:
    64
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Location:
    No. Ogden, Utah
    For Q 1, there is a tcase output seal inside there, and I prefer to silicone the splines and nut/washer there as well.
     
  3. SpaceGhost

    SpaceGhost

    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Location:
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    Regardless if you changed the output to eliminate the e-brake the same seal has to be replaced. Every output I have seen apart also had the seal surface grooved as well. There are speedi sleeves to solve that problem.

    I don't know why you wouldn't take it apart, replace the seal, slap a speedi sleeve over the output yoke, and replace the ebrake parts. $200 maybe and you have as good an ebrake as there is.

    Not that I am some kinda guardian of YOUR safety, but when your rig mysteriously starts rolling down a hillside and encounters another object, well you get the picture. Reconsider it with a small child minding their own business being the object.

    Don't let safety items slide, PLEASE!
     
  4. FJ40onNOS

    FJ40onNOS

    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Location:
    Spring, Texas
    i dont think you can
     
  5. cruiseroutfit

    cruiseroutfit Supporting Vendor Moderator

    Messages:
    7,880
    Likes Received:
    4,814
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Location:
    Utah
    I agree with SpaceGhost :D

    Get the seal, the speedi-sleeve, the brake pads, and a used cable, all for $100... :D

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    ;)
     
  6. Otterav

    Otterav

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Boulder Creek, CA
    Hello,
    I bought a kit on e-bay for $45.00. I have seen a xfer brake eliminator for folks who have e-brakes on the rear discs. Fix it ,it is really easy about 1 hour if you can handle basic hand tools.
    Otter
     
  7. zornff

    zornff

    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    SO.WEST,COLORADO
    I never had a leak until i installed my Orion. Not alot, but enough to piss me off. So i thought i jacked up the seal. Got a new seal and drip, drip. Not alot, but enough to piss me off ! So i got another seal, emory'ed the flange, and used a speedy sleeve. This was yesterday ! Got home and checked, drip,drip,drip. Not alot of fluid, just enough to REALLY PISS ME OFF !!! Any idea's ??? :crybaby:
     
  8. dgangle

    dgangle total rice SILVER Star

    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Location:
    Heart of Dixie
    two seals. see murack.com for his speedo housing machined for two seals or do youself w/ die grinder. the second seal will grab virgin part of pbrake drum
     
  9. milesstarkey

    milesstarkey

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    it may make a difference to you who are concerned with safety that i have an automatic installed. i personally don't know anyone with an automatic that uses the e-brake. so with that in mind, back to question two, is there a part that i need if i take the e-brake part off the t/case?
     
  10. cruiseroutfit

    cruiseroutfit Supporting Vendor Moderator

    Messages:
    7,880
    Likes Received:
    4,814
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Location:
    Utah
    Nope, pull off the drum (remove stake nut) and then remove the 4 little bolts that hold the brake backing plate on, take it off...

    The drum needs to stay as it functions as the output seal surface and the driveline flange. Throw in on a lathe and turn the drum off the flange, that is the way to do it IMHO...
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.