Transfer Case, Center Diff Lock and Rear Diff Lock Issues and Resolution (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I apologize if this is a regurgitation of old information, but I wasn't able to find a single post that compiled all of the issues I had to resolve my rear locker engagement. This is my attempt to give back to this forum.

Here's a little background. I am totally new to LCs and I'm a "city boy". Went out one weekend with a buddy of mine @siphanracing onto some trails and camped out deep in the national forest. Long story short, I got hooked. I went out and purchased a 100 series LC model year 1999 a few months back. I purchased it knowing the rear locker was not engaging, but for the price I paid, I couldn't turn it down.

I lagged on getting to work on the rear locker issue, but once I started, I carried the momentum until I resolved it. Thanks to @siphanracing and all of the previous users on this forum who submitted their input on the center diff lock, transfer case and rear diff lock.

Lets get to the details:

First and foremost, I had to figure out the requirements to engage the rear lockers. This was a bit tricky because many posts only explain the process on how to engage the rear locker without details on what happens during the process. Let me summarize my understanding of the requirements:

1. The ignition must be in the ON position (motor can be on or off)
  2. Transfer case must be in 4Low position. There is a position switch on the transfer case that detects 4Low is engaged. The 12 volt signal goes through the switch and returns back to the control module to indicate engagement.
  3. When the transfer case is placed in 4Low, the center diff lock (CDL) automatically engages. You'll hear a relay click in the front dash area which engages the CDL solenoid under the vehicle (solenoid will make a winding sound when engaging).