Toyota distributor (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

That's an early style US (also known as Non-US) points distributor. Don't know if the Mel's Electronic Ignition module is included with the $275 price or not (seems like not).

The early distributors work fine. I have no knowledge on the Mel's Ignition. These distributors also work well with the OEM semi-electronic ignition system (ignitor).

Just installed one from Marks Off Road with the Pertronix module installed. Worked perfectly on my 71fj40 stock 1f. No more points yeah! Now I just have to get the carb ported (old setup was vac retard). Marks was considerably cheaper and a great guy to deal with. His web site is http://www.marksoffroad.net/.

Les

dfmorse said:
Has anyone used this distributor?

http://jtoutfitters.com/product/19100NUS

David in Denver

I've been using that distributor for 3 years now.
With the points...

There is nothing wrong with a points type ignition. Alot of people swear at them. I haven't had any issues with mine.

POints DO require maintenance. But when you are replacing the cap, rotor, wires and plugs it's really a non issue to check the points gap.

HTH
-James

how does that mel's setup or even that firecracker setup that JTO used to sell, compare to an HEI distrib?

i have the HEI in now works fine.

i picked up a non- usa distrib and the fire cracker stuff from jto yrs ago.
i would like to use the toyota stuff, if it's comparable to an HEI.

(hijack/off)

been trying to get feed back on this for a while, nothing ever turns up.