Towing advice / guidance - 1994 UK Diesel, stock everything (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey Folks,

Before I begin - I'm completely new at the idea of towing, so apologies for the n00b questions.... so here goes:

Context:
On our recent trip to the Spanish Pyrenees, there was a couple towing a very nice trailer, which was a very good DIY copy of the Patriot Campers X3:
X3 - [Leaving Land Cruiser Club]

We were putting up and taking down our Oztent RV4 + sundries each evening & every morning. Probably cost me about 3 hrs a day, because I was the one doing it. So as a result:
- I never really got to sit in a chair and drink a cold beer
- My wife was always looking after the kids - she also didn't get to drink a cold beer either
- When it rained, which it did, we had a wet Oztent which took longer to make dry etc
- We were always eating later than everyone else at night
- We were always rushing in the morning
- I won't complain about cooking - we managed that fine off the back of the truck; but the wife did like the 80l fridges & cooking units on display...
So it was a good break from work, but I wouldn't call it relaxing in any sense.

So in order to keep my joy of going outdoors and exploring off the beaten track, I started planting the seed of:
- what if we had a trailer?
- with a tent on the top?
- which we could use as a base camp on longer trips, but also would make one night stays so much easier...

And by the end of the trip, she was in....

So now I have to figure out how to tow, before I can go anywhere near the cost of a trailer...

What I'd like to get out at the end:
- ability to tow a trailer
- ability to put use a bike rack when not towing - all 4 of us ride our bikes, so it's a part of family holidays.
- good ground clearance either way - we'll still be going offroad with the trailer/bikes