to swap engines or front quarter panel and grill? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am a total noobie on these engines. I have a crashed 91 and a blown head yesterday on a 92 with at least 370K miles. The 91 was running well before I was attacked by a mesquite tree going about 15 mph. Those trees can move fast when they know you are looking at the coffee spill instead of the road. The 91 did pull to the left and that gave the tree an additional advantage.
Or would it be just simpler and easier to put the 92 sheet metal on the 91 and leave that engine there? It had an exhaust manifold leak but other than that only 194K original on it.
My trusted local mechanic is pegging the engine swap labor cost at about $2K. They have always treated me well for like 20 yrs.
Any and all input welcome. And/or I need a starting point and procedures to swap engines.

Switch Sheet metal and have them fix the exhaust while it is there.

that was my decision yesterday until I started trying to pull bolts away from mangled sheet metal. almost have the radiator pulled. there is so much stuff bolted to that quarter panel.

that was my decision yesterday until I started trying to pull bolts away from mangled sheet metal. almost have the radiator pulled. there is so much stuff bolted to that quarter panel.
I have coolant in the 1st 3 cylinders on the 91. Does this automatically imply a blown head gasket or just the intake manifold gasket? Intake would be easier than the mangled sheet metal and replacement.

If you think that quarter panel has a lot bolted to it, you should see how many bolts must be removed to swap the engine...........

Post pics.

You have coolant in the first three cylinders in the 91 or the 92?

You can cut away any of the damaged body that is preventing access to bolts, as long as it is stuff your going to replace.