To paint or to raptor liner? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have just acquired this truck and want to turn it into a lake, offroad, get the kids in the mountains camping rig.

Would you believe this is a perfect interior rig with 150k miles?

It looks absolutely hideous so I'm looking for opinions.....drop it off at Maaco for their $500 special or raptor liner it in the garage? This route will not look anywhere near perfect for their $500 paint job but just a respray will make it look TONS better.

I have no experience with painting cars so if I go the raptor liner route it will probably look pretty bad, make a mess, but cost about $250.

My 5 year old son wants to put raptor scratch marks all over it and tell people we just went to Jurassic Park.

20200713_175025.jpg

20200713_175031.jpg

20200713_175040.jpg

20200713_175332.jpg

20200713_175334.jpg

I was going to say the Maaco job until I saw the roof pics.

Was it in a rollover? Is that rust?

Many here use Monstaliner with good results. Easy to roll on and can be done for the $250 range I believe.

Go with whatever body color you like, then do a white or off-white on the roof to help keep the interior a bit cooler.

Monsta line it I tried to paint mine serveral different ways then vynil wrapped it then tried monsta liner and was bummed I wasted so much time on the other methods.

IMG_4673.jpeg

Line it. The body looks beat, not worth the effort to get it ready for shiny paint.

You can't monstaliner over that kind of damage. Looks like you have bondo with rust underneath it. If you monstaliner over rust it will accelerate the spread of the rust significantly once covered with monstaliner and the liner will begin to lift. First grind out the bondo and rust and see what your dealing with.