Tire shop messed up my tie rod ends... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I need some help. I just bought my '72 FJ40 so I'm new to Landcruisers. I took some new rims to a tire shop in Seattle. They switched out my old rims and drove it around their parking lot to test out the new ones. They completely messed up my tie rod ends because they scraped the inside of the new rims (see pics). My original rims are 15X7 and the new ones are 15X8. Needless to say, I'm pretty frustrated.

My FJ40 has Saginaw power steering so I'm told the tie rods are different. Can someone tell me which tie rod ends I need? I went to SOR and the ones listed for FJ40s specifically say they will not work with Saginaw power steering conversions.

Thanks for all your help. It's a frustrating start for a new FJ40 owner. But I'm still so excited to have it.

IMG_2136.jpg

IMG_2135.jpg

Looks to me like it just cut the boot-dirt shield. The boot is replaceable. No damage to actual tie rod.

Looks like it was time for new ones anyway, wiping some grease off of them on occasion would not hurt anything.

To me it looks like the only thing that made contact with the tire is the damaged boot. That appears to need replacement prior to even having the new wheels installed in the first place... I would re access yourself...

Thanks guys. And I imagine the FJ40 boots are pretty universal over the years?

Unfortunately, the other side is a bit worse. There's a chunk taken out of the tie rod end.

Those outer rod ends should be factory parts. Should be able to drop by most part stores or amazon to get the rod ends and/or replacement boots.
For boot replacement only the trick is getting the old rod end unstuck without destroying it.