Tips for Installing Lift? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
303perspective.pixieset.com
Hey All! I'm pretty new to Ih8mud and the 100 series world! I'm looking into buying a 2" ironman foam cell lift right now, for those (I'm sure many) of you who have done the lift installation yourself, are there any tips or things to look out for? I did coil overs on my old Subaru with little to no issues but figured going up versus lowering could be different.

Any insight or things to look out for are much appreciated, thank you!

Some tips that are not specific to the Ironman Foam Cell (nor to the 100-series necessarily) would be:
  • Soak everything in PB blaster a day or two in advance
  • Use jack stands to safely hold the vehicle higher than you think you need so that you have more space to work and space for down travel
  • The factory jack works well for pushing down one side the rear axle when removing/installing coils (use the floor jack to support pumpkin while doing so to create a lever motion)
  • Be careful of over-extending brake lines, especially in the rear, disconnect some mounting bolts if there is tension on the lines
Other than that, pretty much just follow the instructions and other install guides here on Mud. And welcome!

I did an install of the foam cell pro kit from ironman a year or two ago. I used the information I got from this forum. Huge help.
One thing that was a giant pain was getting the stock rear shocks off. I'd definitely look at those threads. I think there was also an OTRAM youtube video that I went by. I was glad I bought a ratcheting wrench for that job.

Mark the torsion bar tightening bolts with a sharpie or something and count the number of turns. Also, if I remember correctly, the Ironman torsion bars have “gaps” in the splines to help with alignment.