1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Timing Adjustment for a 3FE Motor

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by Cruiser Jimmy, Apr 24, 2006.

  1. Cruiser Jimmy

    Cruiser Jimmy Moderator

    Messages:
    2,025
    Media:
    100
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    477
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Junction, CO
    Many threads have been raised regarding how to time a 3FE motor. Many have contributed to the cause of helping a fellow MUD'er out when in need but I have not run across an illustrated thread. Well, you can thank our current Moderator [Ken Romer] for asking someone to post up some 3FE threads to add to the FAQ's for us 3FE guys. So here goes.

    0. Warm up the engine to operating temperature.

    1. Loosen the bolt that holds the distributor. Don't remove the bolt.

    2. Monitor the engine idle RPM. Idle rpm should be 650 rpm. The tach in the dash cluster can be used to monitor the rpm's but the FSM states that you should connect a tachometer test prove to terminal [IG] on the diagnostic's box.

    3. In the diagnostic box, use a small diameter piece of wire and connect Terminal TE1 and E1. Recheck the rpm's.

    4. Connect a timing light to number 1 cylinder spark plug lead.

    5. Aim the timing light at the back of the engine on the passengers side as in Pic 2. Turn the distributor so that you see the large circle align with the small wire probe. You'll see the circle move back and forth as you move the distributor. This is what the FSM calls for timing, when the large circle and the wire mark are aligned, it's 7º BTDC.


    Pic 1: Diagnostic box showing terminal TE1 and E1 connected.

    Pic 2: Location of timing access view whole.

    Pic 3: Shows the timing mark and TDC mark. The large circle is the 7º Before Top Dead Center (BTDC). The two small circles are Top Dead Center (TDC).

    Good luck.
    DSCF1051.jpg DSCF1047.JPG DSCF0410.JPG
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2007
  2. Cruiser Jimmy

    Cruiser Jimmy Moderator

    Messages:
    2,025
    Media:
    100
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    477
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Junction, CO
    Some additionally notes:

    You're going to have a hard time getting a line of sight if this is your first time timing the rig. Find your best line, it'll come to ya.

    If you can't get the engine to idle at 650 rpms, you could have the idle adjustment not set property and/or the TPS sensor [Pic 2] is out of adjustment.

    Adjust the idle screw to the desired 650 rpms [Pic 1]. (When my idle was not right I adjusted the idle screw.) That did not work so I took off the throttle body and cleaned it out [Pic 2]. There was a lot of carbon build up in the two hose ports on the top of the TB. Cleaning those up and the general cleaning of the TB fixed the problem. I could get the idle back down to 650.

    While the throttle body was off, I took the TPS off as to not contaminate it. To put in back on and adjusted it property takes an ohm meter. The TPS must be set right for the proper signal to register at the computer.
    DSCF1050.JPG DSCF1049.JPG
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2006
  3. RavenTai

    RavenTai

    Messages:
    6,048
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Location:
    Dixie co. Florida
    your write up came in quite handy,

    Thank you
    :cheers:
     
  4. Cruiser Jimmy

    Cruiser Jimmy Moderator

    Messages:
    2,025
    Media:
    100
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    477
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Junction, CO
    alkaline747trio

    alkaline747trio,
    Did you get your distrubutor fixed?

    RT,
    Thanks man.
     
  5. alkaline747trio

    alkaline747trio

    Messages:
    4,577
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Albemarle NC
    Yea, got it to turn after some PB Blaster and a pair of Channelocks. Set it to 11 deg. and no pinging. Definatly has a little more pep now.
     
  6. ezgrand

    ezgrand

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Newbie needs help in locating hole for 3FE

    Hello!

    I am new to the FJ80 3FE engine. Compared to a 2LTE Diesel LJ78 Prado, this engine is totally alien to me!

    Anyway, I can't seem to find the timing hole!

    Could someone reply with where exactly this hole is . What is it next to? Close to starter? All I know is that it is somewhere in the rear, passener side.

    The picture is too focused on the hole and does not give a reference to parts close to it.

    Thanks!
     
  7. nikos

    nikos

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Can you give us info how did you adjust tps using ohm-meter...... any ohm references ect?

    Best regards
     
  8. RavenTai

    RavenTai

    Messages:
    6,048
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Location:
    Dixie co. Florida
    If you look at the picture you can see the end of the side cover on the engine, that should get you in the area, the hole will be covered by a plate held on with one 10mm bolt.

    the manual has this info.
     
  9. MJADDICTION

    MJADDICTION

    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Location:
    TN
    I did this a couple of days ago. Thanks for the write-up. I have used so many things from this site lately. This is one of the best. My 3FE is runnin' great...


    Thanks!!
     
  10. PHAEDRUS

    PHAEDRUS

    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Raven,
    The 91 and 92 3FE port is actually covered by a rubber plug, look in the second pic that jklubens put up, follow the heating line rail along the head and at the back of the block you will see the plug you are looking for.
    Dave
     
  11. nikos

    nikos

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    I dont have an FSM............ :(

    Can you support us with one scan from fsm to get info regarding tps adjust?
     
  12. Cruiser Jimmy

    Cruiser Jimmy Moderator

    Messages:
    2,025
    Media:
    100
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    477
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Junction, CO
    Nikos,
    I'll see if I can get some pics up on the TPS tonight for ya.

    Are you able to buy an FSM in Poland or do you need someone to help out with the logistics?
     
  13. RavenTai

    RavenTai

    Messages:
    6,048
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Location:
    Dixie co. Florida

    no sorry, my 1990 FSM is in FL with my FJ62.


    that is interesting. I am surprised that they changed it.
     
  14. treehugger

    treehugger

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Salem or
  15. Cruiser Jimmy

    Cruiser Jimmy Moderator

    Messages:
    2,025
    Media:
    100
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    477
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Junction, CO
    Nikos,

    if you take the electrical connector off you will see four electrical leads.
    From the top (closest to the hood) to the bottom the name of the wires are:
    VC
    VTA
    IDL
    E2

    Legally I can reproduce the page from the FSM. But in summary, here's what you need to do:

    1. disconnect the sensor connector.
    2. insert a thickness guage between the throttle stop screw and stop lever. (This is on the opposite side of the TPS.)
    3. With an ohmmeter, measure the resistance between each terminal.

    At 0.0mm clearance between lever and stop screw the resistance should be 0.3-6.3kΩ between terminals VTA-E2.
    At 0.77mm clearance between lever and stop screw the resistance should be less than 2.3kΩ between terminals IDL-E2
    At 1.09mm clearance between lever and stop screw the resistance should be infinity between terminals IDL-E2
    At 'throttle valve fully opened position' clearance between lever and stop screw the resistance should be 3.5-10.3kΩ between terminals VTA-E2
    At '-' clearance between lever and stop screw the resistance should be 4.25-8.25kΩ between terminals VC-E2.
     
  16. livelarg

    livelarg

    Messages:
    305
    Media:
    22
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA cITY
    This is a great thread, I am about to tune-up my truck, and I am having trouble getting my truck down to 650 rpm. I will follow your thread and try th cleaning of the AFM and see what happens.

    Thanks
     
  17. MoGas

    MoGas Central Scrutinizer SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,983
    Media:
    7
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    Air Mobile
    I can NOT get a good sight line to the flywheel marks.

    92 FJ80 3FE

    Dave
     
  18. RavenTai

    RavenTai

    Messages:
    6,048
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Location:
    Dixie co. Florida
    It is difficult but doable
     
  19. MoGas

    MoGas Central Scrutinizer SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,983
    Media:
    7
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    Air Mobile
    I used an inspection mirror. The fellow aircraft guys know these well.
     
  20. Cruiser Jimmy

    Cruiser Jimmy Moderator

    Messages:
    2,025
    Media:
    100
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    477
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Junction, CO
    I sometimes view it from the front on the engine bay. I have to move some wires and hoses to get a some what good line of sight.