Time for new valve seals? New head gasket? ...or something worse (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

BeerM3

SILVER Star
Threads
Backstory: I've had this '76 for a couple years now. While I'm no engine expert, I know my way around the basics from rebuilding a couple small block chevy's as a kid. That said, I figure it wouldn't hurt to reach out to the MUD community to see what the consensus is.

There's been a small puff of the telltale bluish-white smoke on startup for most of the times I can remember. By and large it runs and idles just fine. The plugs were replaced as part of the general "tune up" back in the fall of 2017. Knowing what I know now, they probably weren't gapped properly for the DUI distributor, but I don't think that's the issue. I finally got around to checking the compression and below are the results. 2 things: I did warm up the engine but it had to of cooled down some in my 15min run to the auto store when I realized my spark plug socket was MIA and 2) I didn't prop open the carb which apparently I should have. I hope to test it again this weekend with all the proper steps, but I suspect the results will mirror these, hopefully with a little higher numbers.

Not knowing any of the history of why or when someone put a '79 2f in my '76, my inclination is to just pull the head, have it machined if necessary, and see what lies underneath. I suspect the valve seals and possibly the guides are shot, but it might be something more substantial in #5?

2019-08-16 16.42.49.jpg

The upside to having some weekend time to crawl under the truck...looks like i get to buy new exhaust too!
2019-08-11 18.21.15.jpg

You shouldn’t need a new gasket for the valve cover to adjust valves, it’s easily replaced later if it’s leaking. A good place to start would be a good valve adjustment, check timing, and check out the carb while you’re there.