1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thinking about changing careers- need advice!!!

Discussion in 'Chit-Chat' started by LukeZero, Jul 17, 2005.

1. LukeZero

LukeZero

Hey everyone... I'm thinking about changing my work career and would like to have your input... I know, I know, asking this group for career advice may be a dumb thing to do. Anyway, here's the scoop, I hope you all have your counselors hats on.

I had no idea in high-school what I wanted to do for a living, but I was a really good smartass- so I went to a liberal arts college and got a degree in Philosophy (I never knew you could major in asking questions that no one knew the answer to) :)- then I got married to the wrong woman and that lasted about 7 months, moved home and went to work in the family business (plumbing and heating), basically I've been there ever since, not particularly happy with it and my current wife ( much better choice) can tell that I'm not content with this. She keeps encouraging me to figure out what I want to do.

I'm 32, have high mechanical aptitude (I've scored off the charts on the Bennet Mechanical Aptitude tests), I score ENTP on the Myers-Briggs, I have an IQ somewhere between 145 and 155 depending on which test I take. I have a BA In Philosophy. My wife is on faculty at Notre Dame and I can get either free classes or half-price classes depending on which department.

Problem is, we have lots 'o debt. I don't know if we could keep our current house if I went back to school. Maybe that shouldn't be part of the big picture.

I'm thinking about Law school or Mechanical engineering. If you guys were in my shoes- what would you do?